Thassos, Greece: Holiday review

  • my holidays in thassos

    Review by: michael pavlis

    Weather

    Very nice. Found June was the best time as not too hot. September even warmer, though tends to rain

    Holiday

    fantastic been to Thassos several times some twice in the same year it is truly a very beautiful island and, as it's the most northerly island in Greece, it is not dry and baron.

    Found people very friendly, never had any problem with food (i.e Spanish tummy, as its called), not very much nightlife unless you went to Thassos town, but ideal if you like a quiet and relaxing time.

    Took our best friends last year and they could not believe how quiet it was.

    Found in our experience the Magic Coast and Green Seas tavernas the best, situated on the sea dirt road between Golden Beach and Skala Potamias- well worth a visit.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • The best Island in Greece

    Review by: David Petrov

    Weather

    The weather was perfect.

    This is the second time that I have been to Thassos; both times were for two weeks and the weather was perfect.

    The temperature was about 25 degrees in the day time and 20 degrees in the night time.

    We went in 2009 in May and the second time, in October in 2011.

    Holiday

    Our holiday was perfect: it was relaxing and we stayed at the famous area of the Island, Grand beach, and stayed in Grand beach hotel both times.

    The hotel is small- around 25 rooms- and is family run by people that make you feel like you are friends.

    They do not need to hesitate to offer you anything you desire!

    Thank you, Marios, one more time for the nice holiday you gave us.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Golden Beach; Thasssos

    Review by: Mark

    Weather

    There were 10 fully sunny days, with 3 cloudy days and one day of rain which was rather persistent.

    Overall very good.

    Hot, but not too hot.

    Holiday

    Golden Beach and its neighbouring resort of Skala Potamis are ideal for couples wanting a relaxing holiday.

    A very laid back area with just a few low key bars and not many shops.

    A good selection of tavernas.

    The four we can recommend are Sotiris and Federas in Golden Beach and Akrogialia and Captains Table in Skala Potamis.

    We stayed at the two star Gorge hotel which was very basic but fair value for money.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Not the island that it once was

    Review by: Greg

    Weather

    Very hot for the whole 2 week stay so air-con is a must if you want a proper nights sleep. Had a massive thunder storm one night followed by torrential rain but didn't care as it was still humid.

    Holiday

    Sadly Thassos is not the island we first visited in 2000. Now it has the tourist feel to it instead of the quiet little Greek island that it once was. At night,it is nigh impossible to eat a meal in a taverna without being pestered by someone selling you something or attempting to serenade you in various ways(very poorly i might add). The locals remain very friendly but it is amusing watching Greek families parading up and down the harbour front all night with the mothers trying to look younger than their daughters.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Thassos - The green Island - the perfect holiday

    Review by: Andreea

    Weather

    very good, not very hot, not very cold, JUST PERFECT. If the weather during the day was perfect, I can say that in the night I stay very confortable without use the air conditioning.Very good!

    Holiday

    VERY RELAXING VERY INTERESTING. I was travelling around all of the island and I saw very nice places, everything around is green and this make the difference compared with the other islands

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Lovely Thassos

    Review by: Spike

    Weather

    Visited in July 2009, loved the Island and the people.

    Stayed in Glykadi at the Four Seasons.Great hotel and has a lovely little beach.

    Weather was fab for the whole 2 weeks.

    Holiday

    Very relaxing and laid back.

    Went round the Island once and really loved the views and the beaches.

    Panagia is a pretty village as is Kazaviti near Prinos

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Holiday in Thassos

    Review by: ANNE

    Weather

    HAVE VISITED THASSOS TWICE, ONCE IN 2008 AND ONCE IN 2009.

    BOTH TIMES STAYED IN GOLDEN BEACH AT THE MARINA APPARTMENTS A FEW MINUTES WALK FROM THE BEACH.

    BOTH TIMES WERE EARLY MAY AND THE WEATHER WAS BEAUTIFUL.

    THERE WAS A THUNDERSTORM ONE EVENING WHICH WAS SPECTACULAR AND NO SIGN OF IT REALLY NEXT MORNING

    Holiday

    THE PERFECT PLACE TO CHILL OUT.

    FIRST VISIT ONLY A WEEK, SECOND VISIT 2 WEEKS.

    IF ITS A PLACE TO RELAX AND WIND DOWN YOUR LOOKING FOR THASSOS IS PERFECT.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Thassos Town - May 2009

    Review by: Julie

    Weather

    Stayed in Thasos Town towards the end of May 2009.

    Very warm and sunny, odd thunderstorm, but warm.

    Not as quiet as thought might be, just about right. No discos in your face.

    Holiday

    Loved the town and the island as a whole, will definitely be back.

    The town centre is very traditional with lots of little passageways and streets to follow.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • My Holiday in Thassos - Golden Beach

    Review by: Trevor And Caroline

    Weather

    Superb, in 14 days we had one day cloudy until about 3pm, luckily on that day we went to Phillipi on the mainland. 30deg every day, and a lovely 21deg in the evenings. Wonderful

    Holiday

    Superb, wonderful unspoilt island, took us back to 25 years ago on Kos, Crete and Corfu. Hotel was marvellous, clean and spotless, staff were great very attentive and friendly.
    The scenery with the pine trees down to the sea and olives, plus the vibrant colours were lovely.
    Loved, loved Thassos.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Beautiful Island, lots of nice poeple...

    Review by: Marianna And Hans Rad. Per.

    Weather

    Was very warm, from 25 Celsius to 32 Celsius, Only had one day of rain with a bit of wind... It was good for the flowers and all
    Those beautiful olive trees...
    The sea was fantastic, even that it was end of September and beginning of October 2008, a lot of people and we were swimming daily..
    Around 2 and 3 PM, it was quite warm to have a swim, 28 Celsius, no bad for so late in the season, mornings a bit colder.

    Holiday

    Beautiful place, everybody should visit Thassos once in their lifetime, nobody is to young or to old... Was there in 1977 and 1979 it has changed a lot, became very modern and now it is so easy to go from one place to the other... So last year was there with my Husband, there is so much to see and do... We are going back 2 of September 2009 and staying for 4 weeks...
    Our dream is to buy a little place to go there every fall, like end of August and September till middle of October...
    We stayed at Gregory Nagoulidis and Arabella Rodriques, Apartment, what a lovely couple, that you can trust with closed eyes... They have so many accommodation ? How to find them...? we have the web. info@thassos.holiday.rentals.com or www.thassos.holiday.rentals.com very good people... Important thing to let people know is, YOU do not have to buy water to drink, it is clean and it comes from the mountain of Aghia Panaghia ...

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Golden Beach resort ideal for couples

    Review by: Anne

    Weather

    The weather was hot with 2 days of showers. The sun shone for most of the time and the showers were on oand off on the vsecond occasion in the morning only..

    Holiday

    We stayed at the Emerald Apartments which are located near the sea in the resort of Golden Beach. The apartments were very basic and overpriced.
    The resort was in a crescent shaped bay surrounded by mountains with a fabulous sandy beach. There was a good selection of authentic Greek restaurants, Overall the resort was suited to couples rather than families

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Thassos here we come!!!!

    Review by: Jane Keelan

    Weather

    Hot, but really enjoyable.
    Had the usual one day storm but will be prepared this year. Nights a little cooler, may need a wrap or cardigan.

    Holiday

    Super, so going back!!!!
    This will be our 4th time. Went last year and booked right away to return. We have on average 4 holidays a year and it has to be special for us to return so soon.
    We stayed at the Thetis, which some reviews said was a hike into town, but you are on holiday and the walk entails a wonderful stroll along the harbour.
    We have booked for the same accomodation this year. We can,t wait to pop into Jeannie and Tim.s Bar, a wonderful couple who have time for all their customers.
    Bus service is a little hit and miss on Greek time but a good way to see the island.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Four Season

    Review by: Chris

    Weather

    the weather was hot, hot , hot. It was in the high 30,s every day. Did drop a little in the evening but not much.

    Holiday

    We stayed in the Four Season hotel in Glykadi and it was lovely. Not to far from Limenas but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • sso land of dreams

    Review by: Margaret

    Weather

    Fantastic - hot and sunny but not too overbearing, neither does it go to cold in the evenings.
    In one word - great!

    Holiday

    Having been to Thassos several times it was as fabulous as usual and we never fail to discover something or somewhere new and interesting.
    We always stay at the Emerald hotel in Golden Beach, a tribute in itself - as Costas adds so much to the enjoyment of the overall holiday experience - he is so helpful, full of interesting stories and can recommmend the best places to see and visit.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Our holiday in Thassos

    Review by: Ali Hardy

    Weather

    It was hot and sunny every day, but cooled slightly in the evening. Any wind was slight.
    I would recommend that you take a siesta to escape the intense midday heat.

    Holiday

    Our holiday was very relaxing - we stayed at Golden Beach.
    There were mainly Greek families on holiday there, who were very friendly, as were the locals.
    All the restaurants we tried were excellent and we were never rushed through our meal.
    The beach was wonderful!

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Holiday to Thassos

    Review by: Greg

    Weather

    Very hot as in all my previous visits to Thassos, in fact the hotter the better for me. Temperature fell at night but not by an awful lot.

    Holiday

    As I return to Thassos every year i think it speaks for itself, this time was no exception.
    Beautifull island with lots of things to do, the Thassians are very friendly people.
    Thassos is a Greek island that I think everyone should visit at least once, and in my opinion they would definitely return.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • holiday in thassos

    Review by: Ann

    Weather

    The weather was very hot, 98 in the shade on a few days! The nights were warm and a bit sticky but we were able to sleep(didn,t use air con) It was lovely to go in the water to cool off and then have a cold Mythos.

    Holiday

    We have been coming to Thassos since 2001 and never had a bad holiday, some years twice so that must say a lot for the island. The locals are so friendly and remember you, don't know how they do it!!!

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • holiday in thassos

    Review by: Susan

    Weather

    Fabulous,wall to wall sunshine,all you want from a holiday ,warm at night and hot and sunny through the day

    Holiday

    One of the best holidays i have ever had
    bit of everything .
    Walking up over the hill in the pine trees was wonderful ,the smell is lovely
    The people are lovely and i would go back tomorrow.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Holiday to Galaxy Hotel, Thassos Town

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    The temperatures were in the mid 30's by day and mid 20's by night.
    Most days were wall to wall blue sky.
    Great laying on a sun lounger getting a tan whilst watching a storm on the main land.

    Holiday

    Our hotel was small and to the usual Greek standard. Several couples have returned to the hotel every year for over 10 years.
    We can see why, the welcome and the service by the proprietors and family was great.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Holiday in Thassos

    Review by: Heather

    Weather

    The weather was fantastic! It was really hot. We went in June and the temperatures never went lower than 30 degrees!

    Holiday

    Our holiday was great we stayed in Thassos Town. We had not been before so we did not know what to expect. The restaurants are excellent and I would recommend Simi in the old harbour. The bars were great and there is one 'club', which suited us fine.
    It is a real romantic island with lots to see and do.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • Holiday in thassos

    Review by: Miss Zoe

    Weather

    Weather hot every day was in high 80's one day With another day a wind storm but it was still warm and nice to see!

    Holiday

    Very quiet and relaxing it was early season so no crowds and no hire stuff on the beach, which is just how I like it 'authentic' ..I'm rating the night life low for you guys who are expecting some, there was only good local food in small tavernas.. this week in the year weather can be unpredictable so the locals start off slow I have never been late in the season so don,t know if it gets any more than cafe's with bar extentions with taped music Fab for me!

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • great island

    Review by: Jane Keelan

    Weather

    Great weather, hot days and nights Need pleny of suntan lotion . Had one storm which was wild, but over really quick.

    Holiday

    Brilliiant holiday. Visited the year before in August. returning again this June. Have visited other greek islands and enjoyed all.going back to Thassos to see if any changes.

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

  • holiday in thassos

    Review by: Yvonne Broome

    Weather

    last holiday in thassos was in June the weather was hot and sunny loved the island and we are going back this May
    it is a quite island, watching the ferrys come and go is amasing! not for people who want Discos and lager louts!
    .

    Holiday

    Brilliant- will write another review when we get back this time.
    Hope the reteraunts are still as good

    Recommend Thassos to others?

    Yes

Thassos : Next 24-Hour Weather

Today - 15th April 2024

Sunrise 06:42

Sunrise

Sunset 20:01

Sunset
18:00
21°C (69°F)
19:00
22°C (70°F)
20:00
21°C (70°F)
21:00
21°C (69°F)
22:00
21°C (68°F)
23:00
20°C (68°F)

Tomorrow - 16th April 2024

Sunrise 06:42

Sunrise

Sunset 20:01

Sunset
0:00
20°C (68°F)
1:00
20°C (68°F)
2:00
20°C (67°F)
3:00
20°C (67°F)
4:00
20°C (67°F)
5:00
19°C (66°F)
6:00
19°C (66°F)
7:00
18°C (64°F)
8:00
16°C (60°F)
9:00
17°C (61°F)
10:00
17°C (62°F)
11:00
17°C (62°F)
12:00
18°C (63°F)
13:00
18°C (63°F)
14:00
18°C (63°F)
15:00
18°C (64°F)
16:00
18°C (64°F)
17:00
18°C (63°F)