kefalonia, Greece: Holiday review

  • My holiday on Kefalonia

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    The weather was fabulous very hot better than the weather at home last June.

    Holiday

    We always holiday on Kefalonia and we love it there and our holidays are always great when the times comes when we do not enjoy the holiday there then we will find somewhere else to go.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • my first visit going again May 7 13

    Review by: john benstead

    Weather

    It was early May 2012 and the sun shone every day.

    We had a spectacular storm one night which was well worth watching.

    We stayed at the San Georgio in Skala which is a Thomson hotel B&B.
    The evening meals here were excellent,,,,,

    Holiday

    Very relaxing.

    People are so welcoming.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • My holiday in Kefalonia

    Review by: Judy & John Goodwin

    Weather

    We went in September, which is cooler but carries with it the additional risk of rain and thunder.

    We had a couple of rainy days but otherwise the weather was fabulous.

    Holiday

    We stayed at Agia Efimia, which is our favourite place on the island.

    We hired an apartment and a car from Starvillas and we strongly recommend that you do the same as Nikos, Katerina and Vicky are wonderful people and nothing is too much trouble to them.

    They have a website; Starvillas.gr.co. This being our 20 visit, we know the island like the back of our hands.

    Would recommend a day visit to Ithaca, which is a beautiful little island, around 40 minutes sail from the port of Sami and is very like Kefalonia but on a tiny scale.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • kefalonia

    Review by: tommy mckenzie

    Weather

    We've been to Kefalonia for the past 10 years or so, most of the time we go the last week in june and the first week in july when the weather is HOT and in the late 30's.

    We went once in september and the weather was still hot.

    Holiday

    We usually stay in Lassi. It's not too far from Argostoli, we stay in NIKOSTUDIOS, which is across the road from the dolphin supermarket, and you can walk up the road,and then once at the top,it's down to Argostoli.

    This takes about 30mins and is a nice and easy stroll or you can catch the local bus or taxi.

    Lassi has quite a few shops, bars and restaurants/tavernas, some good beaches and the people are SO friendly.

    Kefalonia is a very relaxing and laid back island,

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • fantastic. Great views. Not spoiled. Welcoming people.

    Review by: john benstead

    Weather

    Weather was just right during the first week of May in 2012.

    What's the point of going in July and August when it's so hot you are seeking air con all the time?

    Weather was superb this time of year, it was so good we are going again in May next time.

    Holiday

    Was so good we are definitely going again!

    Skala is just right for us as we are in our 70's, but you need to be a bit nimble as some of the terrain can be steep.

    We found Skala was just waking up, so got excellent value for money.

    Found a sandy beach near rocks where you can skinny dip.
    Not far from here is The Sunrise, owned by Victor and his family who serve excellent sardines which is a great lunchtime eat with a beer or wine.

    We found the people very hospitable.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • our holiday in kefalonia

    Review by: elaine stevens

    Weather

    Went out on the first flight with Easy Jet on April 28th 2012. The weeks we stayed, the weather was nice and hot

    Holiday

    We stayed in a fantastic villa in the quite village of Agios Dimitrios over in Lixouri.
    Went out most evening to one of the local tavernas; the owner Angelos and his family could not do enough for us: told us where to visit etc

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • Kefalonia. The most beautiful island in the Ionian Sea

    Review by: peter hart

    Weather

    I have been to Kefalonia eight times. Seven of those were and the end of June going into July and once in September. The weather on all occasions was hot, never below 28c and in the evening a pleasant 21c

    Holiday

    We always go to the same place, which is Lixouri, and stay at the Hotel Palatino in the Apartments on self catering. You can stay in the hotel where they have bed and breakfast.

    The town of Lixouri is very Greek and not full of tourists. Most of the time it is the locals going about the daily chores, but in the evening everybody seems to come out to the Town Square where they sit and drink coffee while the children play until the small hours.

    If you are looking for a nice, quiet holiday, choose Lixouri, but hire a car so you go and visit the whole of the island and get a feel for the place.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • Our Holiday in Kefalonia 2012

    Review by: Maureen Jones

    Weather

    Went the last two weeks in June 2012 and the weather was very hot, but cooled down the second week.

    Holiday

    Fabulous: we both love Kefalonia and go every year. We stay in Lassi which has a lot of very nice restaurants.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • Was fantastic, a perfect place to stay and relax is the Ionian emerald resort in Karavomilos

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    Very hot indeed, but it was August!

    Holiday

    We love Kefalonia. The local,people are so friendly, there are some amazing places to see- Fiskardo and Assos both must do's. Lots of nice places locally to eat around Sami port.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • Stayed in Skala

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    Weather for the week I spent in Kefalonia was superb, at an average of 34 degrees. It rained heavily one night but was a relief and was hot again next day!

    Holiday

    Holiday was excellent. Weather great, food lovely and not too expensive.The people were very friendly too.Our accommodation was supposed to be a superior room, though quite average really, but very clean

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • our 20th visit to Kefallonia

    Review by: john

    Weather

    Hot- temp 28 degrees at 8am when we got up. Soon reached high 30's. One day reached 45.

    Holiday

    Marvelous. We've been going here for the last 20yrs.This time it was quiet, like the first time. Nice for us but not nice for the local business people.

    It was however cheap prices same as last two years except petrol and alcohol.

    People(many now our friends over the years) are wonderful. Beaches clean, scenery awesome. Food great. Made new friends.

    We always stay in the same family run hotel in the capital, Argostoli (The Mouikis Hotel) really friendly, clean & central.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • Kefalonia (Skala)

    Review by: Teresa

    Weather

    I have been to Skala 8 times and every time the weather has been amazing. Once, back in 2002 we had one day with a massive pour down, but it was like taking a hot shower.

    Holiday

    Holidaying in Skala is amazing, hence the 8 visits. Im going tomorrow (13-09-2011) AGAIN. The locals are so friendly and will go out of their way to accommodate and help you.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • lassi

    Review by: Neil Weyham

    Weather

    Have visited the beautiful island of Kefalonia for the past 6 years. We generally visit the in the last week of June / first week of July.

    Every year the weather has been fantastic. In fact, we haven't even had a bad day's weather.

    Prepare for hot, hot, hot days.

    Holiday

    We have always stayed in Lassi: what a great resort.

    Superb bars and restaurants, adequate supermarkets, excellent hotels / accomodation and finally, probably the best beaches anywhere in the Mediterranean.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • Lixouri A beautiful place to go

    Review by: Peter Hart

    Weather

    We have been for the last seven years mainly at the end of June but also in September.
    The weather in June was hot : Mid 80's during the day and down to mid 60's in the evening so really pleasent to sleep at night.
    In September it was still in the 80's during the day but we had a couple of days when it rained.
    The evenings were much cooler. You could even have to wear a jumper.

    Holiday

    The holiday in Kefalonia is always very peaceful.
    It is not like the major Greek Islands, with lots of night clubs and a lot of youngsters making a fool of themselves. There are plenty of bars where you can sit and have a drink and they will be playing music but in the evening we just like to sit in the town square and watch the children playing and the parents all getting together for a chat

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • my first holiday in kefalonia hope not my last

    Review by: PATRICIA VAUGHAN

    Weather

    FANTASTIC, WE WENT FROM 5TH JUNE UNTIL 12TH. SO HOT THE LAST 4 DAYS. It rained a little the morning we arrived but within 2 hours it was beautiful. Sat and ate at the harbour. We were in Fiscarda and would like to have stayed longer.

    Holiday

    BRILLIANT LOVELY PLACE. LOVELY PEOPLE. Just driving around was so good. Was a bit nervous to start with on the bends but soon got used to that. I live in Portugal so driving on the other side was no problem, within a day perfectly at home. Found the drivers on the whole very good. But did not go into the bigger busier places. So many restaurants even in Fisgard and every one was so nice. I really hope I return one day. We went with Ionian Island travel. I would recommend them to anyone. Not one single thing went wrong.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • Our holiday in Katelios, Kefalonia

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    We went at the beginning of May and it was gorgeous, not too hot, perfect. The sea was a bit chilly but was warming up as the week went on.

    Holiday

    Fabulous, we stayed at the Albouro apartments, which were simple but clean and comfy with wonderful views of the mountains and of the sea.

    Katelios is lovely, quiet and unspoilt, a real chilled out place. We ate most every night at the Katelios Taverna (one of several there) and we loved the food and the wonderful hospitality.

    Only one thing, we were at the start of the season, so buses and some excursions weren't available, but car hire is pretty reasonable so treat yourself and have a day round this wonderful island.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • my holiday in kefalonia (lassie)

    Review by: Robbie

    Weather

    The weather was perfect for the month of June 2009, especially during the evening. We did have one stormy day but other than that sunshine all the way.

    Holiday

    We were lucky because we had the use of a
    private beach, although we spent most of the time on the public beach which was marvellous with a lovely little beach cafe.

    We saw most of the island by local bus trips and local buses/ferries

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • kefalonia august 2009

    Review by: Margaret Taylor

    Weather

    The weather was fantastic, beautiful and hot and sunny every day. Obviously you have to use lots of spf as it gets incredibly hot at time but as long as you're careful its bliss!

    Holiday

    We will definitely be going back put it that way. My family and I have been to approx 8 maybe 9 of the Greek islands and also mainland Greece but we found Kefalonia to be particularly beautiful and soooo friendly. We love Greek people and have always found them to be hospitable and extremely friendly to English people. We hired a car and were lucky enough to see most of the island over the 14 days from north to south, east to west - you wont find a place that disappoints you I promise.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • 2 weeks in kefalonia

    Review by: Steve

    Weather

    2 weeks of sunshine not a cloud in the sky,a little too hot some days,blue skies and a light sea breeze.Clear night time skies

    Holiday

    Fantastic,we stayed in Trepazaki,good food and really nice people,it was our first time but will definitely go back,fell in love with the place

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • beautiful place

    Review by: Helen Thompson

    Weather

    Weather perfect.going back third time.last year sunshine every day going out to eat when the sun goes down .

    Holiday

    Peaceful and quiet lots to do and see very green.food good people great.
    We stayed in Apollo Apts in Scala lovely pool only 12 rooms so you dont have to worry about getting a seat at the pool.
    They do nice food at the poolbar and the family who run it are great

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • our holiday in scala kefalonia.

    Review by: Rick And Sue Monks

    Weather

    Weather was perfect every day.Beautiful blue skies and sea.
    Hours of non-stop sunshine with a lovely cooling light breeze.

    Holiday

    2008 was our seventh time to Kefalonia so as you haxe guessed we rather quite like it.
    This holiday was as good as all the others if not better.
    We are going back to Scala in June this year.
    Can't wait.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • kefalonia

    Review by: Susan

    Weather

    Weather was fab the whole two weeks we were there!was really gorgeous,did'nt even have any overcast days, and there was a nice breeze sometimes :0)

    Holiday

    Really nice,and its our fifth consecutive year to Kefalonia as we like it so much,we stayed in the resort of Skala(3 visits) ad previous to that Trapeziki(2 visits) really nice place to relax and chill out.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • Brilliant Holiday in Kefalonia.

    Review by: Sandrina And David.

    Weather

    We have just returned from a brilliant one week stay in Skala, Kefalonia. Our holiday covered the first week in July, and the weather for the whole week was gorgeous. Total Blue skyswith a nice cooling breeze from the sea, and temperatures around the mid 30's.

    Holiday

    Skala is a wonderful, wonderful resort. Just enough shops to keep everyone happy. First class restaurants, and classy cocktails bars.
    We love the totally uncrowded beaches, and the boat trips offered good value for money.
    The local's are very firendly, and you are sure to receive a warm welcome.
    The night time entertainment is low key, but is there anything better than sitting in a beatutiful location with a nice bottle of wine?.
    We can's wait to go back again next year, and hopefully for two week's next time.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

  • lassi - 07

    Review by: Denise Ball-bull

    Weather

    The weather was around 30 degrees all week fab, clear blue skies and a slight breeze, crystal clear sea and fantastic beaches

    Holiday

    Great food, great accomadation and and loads and loads of wine, we had a lovely lazy week enjoying just chilling out and relaxing, we only need a good beach, beach bar and good weather.
    We had everything in Lassi.

    Recommend kefalonia to others?

    Yes

kefalonia : Next 24-Hour Weather

Today - 16th April 2024

Sunrise 06:44

Sunrise

Sunset 19:59

Sunset
11:00
18°C (64°F)
12:00
18°C (64°F)
13:00
19°C (65°F)
14:00
18°C (64°F)
15:00
19°C (65°F)
16:00
19°C (65°F)
17:00
18°C (64°F)
18:00
17°C (62°F)
19:00
16°C (60°F)
20:00
19°C (65°F)
21:00
20°C (68°F)
22:00
20°C (68°F)
23:00
20°C (68°F)

Tomorrow - 17th April 2024

Sunrise 06:44

Sunrise

Sunset 19:59

Sunset
0:00
20°C (67°F)
1:00
20°C (67°F)
2:00
20°C (67°F)
3:00
20°C (66°F)
4:00
19°C (66°F)
5:00
20°C (66°F)
6:00
19°C (66°F)
7:00
20°C (67°F)
8:00
21°C (69°F)
9:00
20°C (67°F)
10:00
18°C (64°F)