Rhodes, Greece: Holiday review

  • Sailing Holiday in Dodecanese

    Review by: Catherine Armstrong

    Weather

    Weather was lovely in the Dodecanese -Rhodes, Symos, Kos, Nisyros and Timi

    Holiday

    We booked a sailing holiday through Late Sail and had a Bavaria 46.
    this boat lacked :
    holding tank for toilets which made life rather grim for us aboard. We had to hope there were facilities where we moored-often there were none.
    One by one we were all sick with stomach upsets but didn't realise it was the oven gas leak that was causing this. on the penultimate day of our holiday while moored in Rhodes Harbour, the gas oven was on for our lunch. We were up on deck and by chance saw flames coming from the back of the oven. It was a miracle that we were able to extinguish the flames before the boat caught fire or blew up.
    The owners were told of this but we don't believe they will have done anything about it.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • Rhodes is amazing!!!

    Review by: Ashlee Brooks

    Weather

    The weather in April/May is warm but you may still need a jacket in the evening.

    June/July & August: lots of suncream as these are very hot months!

    March, September & October: you can expect a few rain showers but its still 13-17 degrees.

    Rhodes has a dry heat but the smell is amazing.

    I am going back 29th March 2012 for a week. It will be my 27th time!

    Holiday

    Rhodes is amazing. They need more tourists though as the prices have gone up a little.

    Come to Rhodes and help the Greek people bring the old Rhodes back!

    Gorgeous weather, gorgeous little towns, relaxing beaches, crystal clear waters, amazing boat trips, good nightlife in Falaraki and Lindos. Quieter in Pefkos/ Lardos/Pylona. Amazing food, lovely wine.. What more could you ask for?

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • Nice holiday so far

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    The day we arrived it had been raining. No signs of it in the evening as usual. 13th time in in Rhodes. Still a couple of days holiday left, hope the weather stays warm and windy till end of our holidays! The welcome back home in Finland is freezing if the forecast is right - only four degrees (celsius). I only hope it won't rain - ice sticks back in Finland :)

    Holiday

    We were travelling with my parents and aunts from my mother's side. Lots of wondering around the Old Town, trip to Lindos and of course tons of loud laughing! Some of us were first timers in travelling to the South EU. All of them loved it here. Already making plans for a new trip!

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • afondu

    Review by: Sandra Johnson

    Weather

    The weather was hot in Rhodes, and by the end of our two weeks it was very hot and you had to get in the shade.

    Holiday

    The hotel Rhoda Star was a very good hotel.
    Staff were very friendly and the rooms were cleaned every day.
    You could go and see other places, the bus prices were very good 4 euro return to Rhodes town.
    The night life was quite in the hotel and the bar was open till the last person went to be. You could go out to all the other bars in the town, and they would stay open till in about 7.00 am.
    The resturants were very good if you were not all inclusive but even then it was a nice change to go out and eat the food.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • Just Returned

    Review by: Dave

    Weather

    We've just returned from Pefkos and had a mixed week, lots of sunshine and picked up a nice tan but also had heavy showers and a big storm on Tuesday afternoon/evening.
    Last year, same time was good all week, so it's a little unpredictable at this time.
    Well worth the risk though!!

    Holiday

    Great for a break and definately worth a visit. It is a good place to relax as it is not the liveliest of resorts at this time of year, suited to couples and families.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • Fab holiday in PEFKOS

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    I was at Pefkos in July it was very, very hot. Too hot to do anything during the day. Some days it was in the 100's, It did spoil our holiday a tad as we were not able to walk about with 2 kids in the heat.

    Holiday

    Pefkos is beautiful, Lindos is great at night out when its cooler. We didn't make it to Rhodes which is a shame (because of heat). We will definatley go back to Dimitris studios but in cooler months.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • weather

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    Whatever these so called weather experts say, they cannot get it right.
    All are showing max temps of 81'ish. Its a big fat lie, Today has been 101F or 40C.
    If you knew the truth you wouldn't go. It's spoilt my holiday. The BBC are terrible. All last week it was supposed to be 78 in the night (OK correct) and early 80's in the day. No No No.
    Its been 100 why do they do it. We travelled all over Rhodes this week and the temps was always 98/102? Wrecked our holiday as it was far too hot to do anything.

    Holiday

    Great but weather far too hot. Food was of a usual standard, the beaches were ok but were surrounded by scrubby rocky land.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • BEEN GOING FOR 27 YEARS TO RHODES

    Review by: ANN ROBERTS

    Weather

    THIS YEAR WE WENT ON 19TH MAY. IT WAS WARM IN THE DAY BUT COOL AT NIGHT. WE USUALLY GO IN SEPTEMBER OR OCTOBER WHICH WE LIKE VERY MUCH.

    Holiday

    WE HAVE BEEN GOING TO THE SAME HOTEL FOR 27 YEARS - THE ELECTRA PALACE. IT IS 10 MINS FROM THE AIRPORT. ALL THE STAFF ARE VERY FRIENDLY - IT IS LIKE GOING HOME. THE FOOD IS GREAT AND IT IS VERY CLEAN. THE HOTEL IS ON THE BEACH YOU ALWAYS GET A LITTLE WIND ON THAT SIDE OF THE ISLAND WHICH IS GOOD. YOU DO HAVE AIRCRAFT GOING OVER BUT YOU NEVER HEAR IT IN THE HOTEL AT NIGHT. WE HAVE BEEN GOING FOR 27 YEARS AND IT HAS NEVER BEEN A PROBLEM.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • PEFKOS

    Review by: Ashlee Brooks

    Weather

    The weather is always lovely, its not too great to sleep in but I always sleep by the pool anyway!

    Holiday

    I have been to Rhodes about 23 times, used to go 3 times a year when i was younger, I'm only 19 now.

    I fell in love with Pefkos at a very young age and have been visiting ever since.

    I am actually going back out there on the 14th April 2010 to work until October. And my parents have decided to move over there next year.This is how much we all love it.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • 3 Visits in 2 years

    Review by: Liz Adams

    Weather

    First visit was in June 07 when our daughter got married in Kolymbia. The temperature then was between 85-90 degrees. Even at night there was no let up from the heat.

    It was far too hot for sightseeing so we returned in early May of the following year and stayed in Rhodes Town - on the windy side of the island facing Turkey.

    The weather was fantastic and rarely dipped below 80, ideal for sightseeing and the cooler nights made for better sleep.

    Holiday

    Our holiday in Rhodes Town was one of the best we have ever had, so much so that we will be returning in May 2010!

    Hotel Blue Sky was nice although food not of the best with weird and wonderful offerings like chips at breakfast.

    However the staff were nice and hotel location ideal (just 15 min stroll from the Old Town) so we are returning there on B B basis in 2010.

    Only stayed a week but it was plenty time to explore the Old Town and get lost down the many old and narrow streets off the beaten track.

    We found all the islanders welcoming and extremely friendly.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • An interesting varied Greek island

    Review by: Tony Field

    Weather

    Went for a week at the very end of September 2009.

    It could not have been better; in the low 80's with a gentle breeze and occassional cloud - No rain - Perfect.

    Like a really good English summer!

    Holiday

    We stayed all inclusive at the Mitsis Rodos Village in Kiotari - about an hours drive from airport. Easy to find in a hire car.

    We knew the hotel was not new. I would guess early 90's but it was very pleasant and kept very clean. The food was very well presented with a good selection and all the staff were very courteous and pleasant. I have to say that I think we had one of the best rooms, with a sea view balcony you could hold dances on!

    Kiotari is relatively quiet, not quaint and the hotels are virtually all the entertainment on offer. Beach ok too.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • Our Daughters' wedding in Pefkos on 10.10.09

    Review by: Lorna & Mark Shields

    Weather

    Absolutely fabulous - arrived 07.10.09 to a 27 degree evening. Just got better as the week progressed.

    A bit cloudy on the last day, but it was getting to the end of the season. Beach was awesome - crystal clear waters and beautiful golden sands, absolutely nipping clean.

    Holiday

    Daughter got married at St Pauls Bay and we could not have wished for a better day. Thompson rep/wedding planner had everything sorted and organised.

    We stayed at the Lindia Thallassa Apartments, right on the beach, in Pefkos. Rooms were delightful - staff very very pleasant, hotel staff very pleasant. Hotel pool was great for everyone - even our friends came along to join us at our pool as it was much better than theirs. Would not hesitate in re-booking to this complex.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • EVI APPTS IN PEFKOS

    Review by: SUE & DAVE

    Weather

    WEATHER IS ALWAYS GREAT WE HAVE TRIED LAST 2 WKS IN JUNE GETS VERY HOT 40'S AND THE FIRST 2WKS IN JULY STILL VERY HOT , SO WE NOW GO LAST WK IN SEPT FIRST WK IN OCT AND ITS GREAT LOVELY TEMP BY DAY AND COMFORTABLE AT NIGHT , WE HAVE BEEN TRAVELING TO PEFKOS SINCE 1994 SOMETIMES TWICE A YEAR ITS GREAT & WOULDN'T GO ANTWHERE ELSE
    .

    Holiday

    HOLIDAY IN PEFKOS IS GREAT VERY LITTLE IF ANY CRIME YOU CAN SLEEP WITH DOORS & WINDOWS OPEN AND FEEL PERFECTLY SAFE ,RESTURANTS ARE GOOD WOULD RECOMMEND GEORGES & THE 2 BROTHERS GRILL IN THE MAIN STRIP, THEY ALWAYS REMEMBER YOU FROM THE PREVIOUS YEAR ,MED BAR SERVES GOOD FOOD ALL DAY AROUND THE POOL , TASOS AND THE FAMILY ARE GREAT HOSTS,

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • My holidays in Rhodes

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    Weather in June is always wonderful, not too hot, 32 deg is the hottest. No cloud and wonderful sunshine and blue skies. In September the temperature is around 28 deg and we have been going twice a year for 10 years. Have had two awesome storms in September during that time but 1/2 hour later sun is out, everything is dry again.

    Holiday

    We always stay at Cosmos Maris near Lardos, self catering. The hotel has a pool and pool bar which also does food and the rooms are very comfotable and clean, and the family could not be more helpful. There is a local Taverna just down the road called Dimitras which serves lovely food and you can walk to Lardos in the evening and there are many good restaurants and bars. We always come home from holiday wishing we were still there, we have never had anything to complain about. The Greek people are so friendly and helpful.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • Holiday in Rhodes

    Review by: Lynne

    Weather

    July 2009 - very hot! Up to 40 deg. We didn't see a single cloud in two weeks. According to a local taverna owner, cloud develops in September (at equinox) so temperature falls to about 22 deg until November.

    As I can only take holidays during the school holidays, we decided that we would attempt a Greek island in peak summer but it proved too much. Other people may not be affected by the heat in the same way.

    Holiday

    Stayed at the Atlantica Imperial Resort hotel in Kolymbia (east coast, south of Faliraki). Superb hotel and food, stunning interior, beautifully landscaped grounds.

    The heat meant that we only ventured out of Kolymbia once; we caught the local bus to Lindos, swam in the bay, had lunch in the square and took a donkey ride up to the acropolis. It was too hot to stay there for more than 10 minutes, so we descended on foot and sought shade.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • Haraki. Rhodes

    Review by: Barry Morrison

    Weather

    From mid May to end September the weather is always hot.

    Always guaranteed sunshine and hot temperatures.

    Make sure you take plenty of sun cream.

    Holiday

    I always choose Haraki, about 8 miles up the coast from Lindos.

    It's quiet, no discos but enough restaurants & bars to keep you happy.

    Only one hotel but plenty of appartments to book privately, mainly because the tour operators don't offer the apartment owners a fair deal. Only Olympic do packages to Haraki now.

    On the beach all day and eat and drink all night. It's absolute heaven.

    Book your own flights, not too cheap but in some cases some good deals will be found. Details for flights and accomodation can be found at www.haraki.co.uk

    There is'nt much in the way of things for kids to do here which makes it ideal for tranquility seeking adults.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • Faliraki is family friendly

    Review by: Tpebop

    Weather

    Daytime temps in the 70s F. cooler @ night. No rain all the time we visited. Only once in all the years we visited have we experienced a severe storm. That was in October

    Holiday

    great. We found an apartment to rent long term. In May 2009 will retire to Rhodes, to an apartment 200 meters from Kathara Bay

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • princess flora hotel

    Review by: Philip Crocker

    Weather

    The weather was wonderful - wake up in the morning and open the curtains to see clear blue sky - idyllic!

    Holiday

    The holidy was great!! The hotel was lovely and clean, the staff were lovely - always courteous and most anxious to please. Our visits to the restaurant were a delight - being English I expect English food - it was a very good mixture - lovely salads combined with Greek meat dishes and fresh fish - to suit anybody's taste - I thorough y recommend this hotel - very relaxing and although on a main road, it was also on a main bus route with a bus stop right outside the hotel into Rhodes. A really picturesque beach is just opposite and was really lovely.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • my time spent in rhodes

    Review by: Robert Hamlett

    Weather

    I have been to Rhodes many times from June to October and its fantastic realy nice and in Ixiea
    You have a nice mild wind that cools you down but over in Faliraki you dont get the breeze
    In Lindos its just hot hot .hot and realy warm and nice at nite time around 35 to 45 in the months of june,july ,aug,sept but drops down a bit in oct around 27 decs but its great sea warm too

    Holiday

    I like Faliraki as there is plenty to do bars and singing and plenty food bars
    I like it like that and I am 54 never grow up haha
    Rhodes old town is a must day and nite time as all the people go there and walk around the shops .

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • faliraki just 20 minutes from the airport orion apts/hotel

    Review by: Linda Murray

    Weather

    Blue skies, no clouds, hot hot hot sea temp like a warm bath, evening temp still hot, a/c is a must.

    Holiday

    Fantastic as always, we have been visiting Faliraki for 17 years, and would not choose to go any where else.
    Everywhere in the med has sun sea sand good climate, food and drink, but only faliraki has the most friendly genuine people you could ever wish to meet which makes you want to re visit.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • rhodes trip fantastic.

    Review by: LYNYS SAUNDERS

    Weather

    Weather hot about 70 degrees, very nice, evenings breezy during 2nd week, take jumper.
    Very comfortable heat to enable you to get around.

    Holiday

    Brilliant especially for culture vultures, stayed near harbour, right in new town.
    Many places to eat and drink.in old town very romantic,

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • Rhodes Oct 07

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    Weather was sunny everyday, clear blue skys, great daytime and evening temp in the 1st week of Oct last year, great sea temp too!

    Holiday

    I'm not into visiting the same place twice however this island was worth a 2nd visit and didn't dissapoint! Stayed in Rhodes Town which was a perfect location for romantic evenings spent each night in the beautiful old town, plenty of eating and drinking places in super surroundings and wonderful evening walks! Really buzz of this island, friendly locals and Oct was a good time to visit to miss the crowds.The size of this island is perfect for a 7 day holiday as you feel quite satisfied you have seen a good chunk of it

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • Faliraki in Rhodes is awesome

    Review by: Chad

    Weather

    I went to Faliraki in Rhodes at the end of July the weather was extremely hot with no rain. However being near the coast meant that the breeze was enought to make the weather easier to deal with. Its shorts and T-shirts in the day. Even at night its best to stick to shorts etc as the first time i went to rhodes on a night out on bar street i wore jeans and believe me i almost melted!!!!!!!!!

    Holiday

    Both times I have been has been awesome i am about to go back on 8th June (WOO HOO). If you are into clubbing and drinking you will never get bored in faliraki bar street and club street are a blast. However if you are looking for a more gentle holiday there are plenty of places such as the old town and Lindos so you can enjoy a more traditional greek holiday. There are enough resteraunts to never eat the same place more than once and the food is wicked. A word must go out to how freindly all of the people appear to be in Rhodes you are made to feel welcome where ever you go.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

  • Rhodes - Island of the Sun God

    Review by: Brett Redshaw

    Weather

    We've been to Rhodes many times and without exception, the Summers are wonderful. If you visit Rhodes from mid-May through to the end of September, the daytime temperature should never be less than 20 Celsius and the norm for July/August is pushing 30 in the Lindos area. You're also unlikely to get any rain during your holiday. Clear blue skies are the norm on the island. Rhodes benefits from cooling offshore breezes, especially on the West Coast but don't be fooled by these welcome Zephyrs..... Use your sunscreen!

    Holiday

    Rhodes offers a huge variety in surroundings and amenities. There's a lot to do for a wide spectrum of holidaymakers. The Old Town and Lindos are literally 'living history' and are World Heritage sites. At the coastal resorts, you can be as busy or as peaceful as you like. Accomodation ranges from simple, self-catering apartments to all-inclusive luxury hotels. There's so much to see and so many places to visit that you'll never see it all, even if you visit for a month! Above all, the Rhodians are simply perfect hosts and good English is spoken wherever you care to go.

    Recommend Rhodes to others?

    Yes

Rhodes : Next 24-Hour Weather

Today - 21st June 2024

Sunrise 05:50

Sunrise

Sunset 20:29

Sunset
10:00
27°C (81°F)
11:00
28°C (82°F)
12:00
29°C (83°F)
13:00
29°C (83°F)
14:00
28°C (82°F)
15:00
28°C (81°F)
16:00
27°C (81°F)
17:00
27°C (80°F)
18:00
27°C (79°F)
19:00
26°C (78°F)
20:00
26°C (78°F)
21:00
26°C (77°F)
22:00
25°C (77°F)
23:00
25°C (76°F)

Tomorrow - 22nd June 2024

Sunrise 05:50

Sunrise

Sunset 20:29

Sunset
0:00
25°C (76°F)
1:00
25°C (76°F)
2:00
25°C (76°F)
3:00
25°C (76°F)
4:00
25°C (76°F)
5:00
25°C (76°F)
6:00
25°C (77°F)
7:00
25°C (77°F)
8:00
26°C (79°F)
9:00
27°C (80°F)