Altinkum, Turkey: Holiday review

  • Altinkum Delight

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    We've been going to Altinkum since 1997, we never had any rain or we might have had a shower once about 5pm for about 20mins soon dried up though. We've been in June, July, August and September all very hot weather, lovely blue clear skies.

    Holiday

    Had some great holidays in Altinkum the beach is sandy (but hot!!) the people are really, lovely dead friendly, they want to learn English and they pick it up quite quickly. The boat trips are good value for money and they are good fun. The Waterpark in Kusadassi is a must though they've opened one in Altinkum now, not been to that one though. BBQ nights are also very good well worth the money.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Altinkum, a great place for a holiday

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    Absolutely spot on!

    We went out mid April and it was still very pleasant but
    probably only the really hardy people would actually sunbathe and swim from the beaches.

    How ever, our pool was certainly warm enough to swim in.

    Holiday

    As always, laid back and chilled.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • holiday

    Review by: Mark Melvin

    Weather

    Very hot

    Holiday

    Amazing. Locals willing to help

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Holiday in altinkum at Aegeaon Apartment

    Review by: Steve Emson

    Weather

    Weather was very hot, loved it; at night it was in 28 degrees. Able to forget the poor weather at home in England.

    Stayed at the Aegean Heights Apartments- great complex. Friendly bar staff, Naz and Lufty, with entertainment around the pool at night lead by Blake.

    If you want to go into Altinkum, just catch the Dolmas bus at the bottom of the drive. Can be an experience when they get full.

    Loved the boat trips from the harbour and the swim in the blue sea. Other great trips to such as Pamukkale not to be missed and Efes. Can be too hot at mid day; make sure you plan lunch inside or in the shade.

    Holiday

    Great: fantastic and hot; nice people; cheap clothes at the local market, just catch the Dolmas.

    Food good everywhere!

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Didum

    Review by: Phil Warren

    Weather

    Brilliant! Lovely and hot with a sea breeze

    Holiday

    Fantastic friendly people!

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • holiday in Altinkum

    Review by: Tina Stott

    Weather

    Fantastic. Great to soak up the sun. Been here for a few years; went to other areas and they were just as good . Going back to Altinkum again this year.

    Holiday

    Holiday was great, relaxing. Felt that we had more than two weeks.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • patricia saunders

    Review by: Patricia Saunders

    Weather

    The weather was fantastic, so was the holiday. I am going back in four weeks! Altinkum is unique, as are the locals, theyre so friendly and I cant wait to be back there.

    Holiday

    My holiday was fantastic, I was there for my birthday and the locals made it so special, I cant thank them enough, nothing was ever too much for them.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • my first holiday in altinkum turkey

    Review by: Teresa

    Weather

    We didn't know what to expect as it was our first time in Turkey. We went in May, you couldn't fault it, it was hot but not humid, so you could lie in the sun all day and enjoy the freedom to explore the place without getting too sticky.

    Holiday

    We stayed in the Esra and you couldn't ask for a better place, the staff down and the cleaners were both very friendly and helpful. The snacks we ate at lunch time were lovely and the evening Turkish night and bbq evenings were a lot of fun. The beach was great and clean and the sea was so clear. We are going back to the same place this year and are going for 2 weeks this time as we enjoyed it that much and have recommended it to our friends.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Lovely Place

    Review by: Colin

    Weather

    The weather was absolutley lovely. Have been in August and June and couldnt fault either month. It felt strange walking down the front eating an ice cream at midnight.

    Holiday

    Have been to altinkum twice now and have booked again for next year. The people are very friendly although some maybe a bit too friendly. The beaches are lovely. I noticed that things have got more expensive but is still good value for money. Its better to change your money out there as you will get a better exchange rate but its still best to look around as the rate varies from place to place.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Visit to Altinkum - October 2010

    Review by: Julie Horton

    Weather

    We got off the plane to be met by winds and heavy rain. It then improved and still able to sunbathe, though drops cooler at night. The pattern seems to be big thunderstorms and floods starting early in morning, then it would clear to give a couple of days dry weather. We had one day when we couldnt go out because of the amount of rain had flooded the complex and parts of Dolphin Square. Some other roads were flooded and these storms usually followed a power cut. Overall once its cleared up it fine and it nice to be able to get about.

    Holiday

    Holiday was fine though its only a visit to close up the apartment for the winter so usually this time of year everything is a lot quieter and the locals are desperate for your custom. My friend came me this time and I was able to show her the area. She enjoyed it and met everyone who I know in the resort and was able to sunbathe in the afternoons on the balcony. We ate out at Pinnochios which is my regular haunt and enjoyed 2 Turkish nights there. We also visited Romeos twice, another favourite of mine. Many of the bars and restaurants are closing now, so we had some meals in as my friend is a chef in Altinkum who has now finished work and was able to cook for us most of the time before he goes back home to Soke for winter. We departed to the airport again just after a thunderstorm and heavy rain, but started to clear up just as we boarded the plane! Will be back again in May 2011

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Holiday in Altinkum 2010

    Review by: Linda Onar

    Weather

    Very hot in the day but cooler of the night, make sure you have a bottle of water with you at all times, thirsty work trudging to the beach and back lol!!

    Holiday

    I noticed a big difference this year restaurants closed down and the one's that were still trading didn't have many customer's in them, prices have rocketed i found things very expensive this year. But apart from that i come back home with a nice tan lol!! won't be going back next year though.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • altinkum

    Review by: Lisa Robinson

    Weather

    The weather was amazing I have never experienced heat like it before. Very hot in the evening too. Most days were in the mid 40's but there was a nice cool breeze on the beach.

    Holiday

    Holiday was great had a fantastic time, apartments were huge for our family of 5. No need to worry about eating out places as there were plenty of them... the locals are lovely but can get a little bit pushy at times.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Altinkum is the best!!!!

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    Hot! Hot! Hot! don't forget your suncream and a hat, lovely on the beach with a sea breeze don't recommend you do too much walking, it is best to walk around in the evening when it is so much cooler.

    Holiday

    Very nice indeed, the reason being I "DO NOT" stay in the hotels! I rent a private apartment as it is so much better, a home from home if you like. I have been going to Altinkum for the past 5yrs and I am due to go again in the next 2 weeks this time for a month, 16/08/10 I can't wait! The people are great, the food is nice, I use the same restaurants all the time, Sunshine bar, Pinnochio's and Didim Restaurant,

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • hot hot hot

    Review by: Nathan Booth

    Weather

    The weather was very, VERY hot! We went last year in August 2009 and over there was heatwave for 1 week. We went for 2 weeks overall, tempuratures during the day between 11 and 4 were around 36-45 degrees and during the night between 25-30 in the second week tempuratures cooled down to around 37 and 20 at night, every day was sunny with not one cloud in the sky for the whole 14 days we were there. The sea was very warm and it was nice after hot days to just jump into a cool refreshing pool. I would recommend you drink alot of water as I had a heat stroke whilst I was out there.

    Holiday

    Good, although we were forced into buying things. We just layed by the pool and sat by the beach. It's all about sitting out buy the pool with a niced chilled beer and enjoying the night life at night. I dont recommend you get a boat trip to bodrum unless you want a drunk guy dancing with you while the boat breaks down at night with 70 mph winds.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • FABULOUS ALTINKUM

    Review by: Hazel Yuksel

    Weather

    The weather is brilliant - hot hot hot. Make sure you take good sun-tan lotion for the kids. The sea gets very warm and its so nice if you get the sea breeze because you need it.

    Holiday

    i loved Altinkum so much, I have been coming for the past 15 years. I now own the most beautiful 3 bedroom penthouse and I have become a full time resident. The food is very good and cheap - plenty of choice. The Turkish are very helpful people they also come and get you and drop you home after a meal.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • ripper offers

    Review by: Chris Martin

    Weather

    Weather was lovely, hot and sunny, twice it rained at night.

    Holiday

    From the minute we got there they tried to rip us off, bars, market etc, exchanging money, nothing is cheap in Turkey. Tried to sell cigs to 14 yrs old grandson, pestered my 2 daughters, nasty when ignored. I've been to Altinkum many times over 15yrs and some people remembered us, when I said goodbye to them I meant it as I wont be going to Turkey again...ever..............................

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    No

  • My holiday in Altinkum

    Review by: David

    Weather

    Fantastic, you never have to worry about any rain or cloudy days and we have visited Turkey in May, June and August. We are going again in May, July and October this year.

    Holiday

    Altinkum is the friendliest and nicest resort we have ever visited in our 25 years of travelling abroad. There is so much to see and do here from relaxation on the beautiful beaches to the numerous day trips on offer. The restaurants serve excellent food and have friendly staff that enhance your evening out, they will even pick you up and drop you off (for free). We liked Altinkum this much that we bought a duplux penthouse apartment there last year (excellent value for money). Try and learn some of the language the people really appreciate it and repect you for it.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Altinkum a Great Place for a Holiday

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    The Weather was fantastic as always. I have visited every month of the year over the past 7 years. Although the winter can be chilly and sometimes wet, it is always pleasant to walk up the front. During the Summer the weather can get very hot especially in July and August. June, July and September through to mid October usually between 25-32 degrees. July and August around 40 degrees. May and June is really lovely as the resort starts to open up in May for the Summer. It usually closes down end October but there are restaraunts and bars open all year round.

    Holiday

    Amazing! I have never had a bad holiday at this resort. It is trying hard to improve year on year. The people are friendly and very family orientated and it represents good value for money with a large beer on the front around £1. Tip, take very little lira with you as you can usually get a better exchange rate in the jewellers on the front. To eat out is cheap and the quality of food excellent.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Fantastic

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    Weather was great.

    We went last August when it was in the 40's. It was a bit too hot for me.

    We are going back this month, and it should be early 20's.

    When we were there last time there wasn't a cloud in sight.

    Holiday

    Brilliant, something for all ages, the beach, nightclubs, family bars, entertainment, kareoke, fantastic excursions and it's all so cheap.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • My Numerous Holidays In Altinkum

    Review by: Jackie

    Weather

    The weater is always fantastic in Altinkum. Down at the beautiful beaches you get a lovely light breeze. July and August very hot so plenty of sun screen and drink plenty of water.

    Holiday

    I have been visiting Altinkum for 20 years and seen the resort grow and prosper. The people are genuine, friendly and always there to help you. I have visited many countries all over the world but hand on heart have never found anywhere that I feel more at home than Altinkum.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Never dissapointed by holidays to Altinkum.

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    Weather is always great. I've been June, July and September. The sun's always out, but in July was bit too warm. In September heat is more bearable but at night I noticed drop in temperature - better than night temperature in July, far too hot & sticky!

    Holiday

    I've been to Altinkum 5 times now, will be 6 later this month and everytime I go I manage to have a even better time! Would recommend to young ones and old! Can be a quiet holiday or more lively. We've stayed at Esra 4 times and Peyda once. Really recommend Esra, entertainment is good and staff are all really nice. Theres a BBQ night and a Turkish night during the week which have dancers and games and different kinds of entertainment.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • my holiday to altinkum

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    I go to Altinkum every year and it only gets better. guaranteed hot sunshine up until end of October.
    People really friendly. annoying at first with the hassle of being called into shops - if you return they remember you (unbelievable) and the hassle stops.
    I've stayed everywhere from the very basic to the more upmarket and could not fault any - after all you get what you pay for.
    Was last in Altinkum first week of june 09 and am returning in aug 09 - did notice that prices have gone up considerably since last year, but it's still reasonalbly cheap. the grand restaurant is one of the best restaurants with big ben also serving top food

    Holiday

    great for all ages - plenty of night life disco bars, (the usual stuff) break dancers - kids just loved it

    turkish really friendly people and great sport

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Garden of Sun 5* Altinkum

    Review by: Joe

    Weather

    Weather was amazing. Hot every day with Temps up to 40 Degrees most Days in July.. Nice warm lazy Evenings away from the Hotel..

    Holiday

    The area is like a building site with Building Works everywhere and the worst Roads this side of Iraq... It looked almost 3rd World driving to the Hotel.. The Hotel itself looked great from the outside and had good Fixtures and Fittings but not 5 Star (More like Spanish 3 Star to me) Staff were only interested in Money and gave me the look of Death when I made use of the All Inclusive facilities. I paid enough for them so why the Evil stares... The Lifts stopped at every floor regardless of the fact that No-One pressed the button and the food was bloody Awful and in most cases I went out to Eat.. (Thank God for Burger King) The Receptionist Staff were so unhelpful and poorly organised when we asked about Excursions.. Transport Links etc and gave us no information and not even a smile on answer.. All I can say is that I will never be back in Turkey after such a poor Experience and I feel that I will stick to my usual Destinbations (ie Italy, France, Germany, Spain, Belgium, Bulgaria etc..) which have been much better in every way..

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    No

  • Akbuk near Altinkum

    Review by: Patsy

    Weather

    The weather in July 2008 was absolutely fabulous. Hot, hot, hot! Nothing better than throwing yourself in the pool or the cooling sea. Glorious at night too.

    Holiday

    Our holiday was fabulous - three young children and three adults - something for all of us. This children learned to swim and dive and so long as you are sensible and protect them well against the hot sun, they can have a fabulous time in the sun. Lots of places to visit, whatever you want from your holiday - sun, sea, sand, scenery, history - its got it all and suits people of all ages. The people are so friendly and helpful. I can't fault it.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Holiday in Altinkum 2008

    Review by: Breesha

    Weather

    I have been three times now and when i go on the 13th September it will be my fourth !
    The weather in September is always great !
    Suitable for adults , children and teenagers ! Very hot but not to sticky , seen about 2 clouds per day the sun was allllways out , and at night times the weather is perfect , not too hot , not cold and no wind .
    Around 30's .

    Holiday

    Amazing , we stay in a villa next to Peyda & the Esra hotels , there isn't one person i know that has been to Turkey and has come back saying 'yeh it was alright' or they didn't like it , everyone loves it !
    The people are very friendly , weathers great , lots of stuff to do and bars everywhere !

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • our fabulous holiday in altinkum

    Review by: Mrs A Reid

    Weather

    We stayed at the Esra Apartments
    Me, my husband and my three children
    All had a really good time and booked
    again for next year.
    Esra was clean, entertaining and has very friendly staff
    their was tears when it was time to go home.
    The weather was fantastic, come prepared with plenty suncream and hats.

    Holiday

    We went to the mud baths and turtle
    beach left feeling all refreshed but you will need to shower when you return.
    Aqua Park Ar Kusadaski was great fun
    but wear ear plugs while swimming in any of the pools as ear infections are can be a problem.
    I took a good first aid kit which did help.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Our first time in Altinkum, hopefully not the last!

    Review by: Judy Turner

    Weather

    We stayed at the Budak hotel in the last week of July 2008. The weather was absolutely gorgeous, red hot! We only ever saw cloud on our last day and it was still hot even so, apart from that you never needed a cardi or pashmina at all even late at night.
    It was so hot that some of the Turks were burying themselves in the sand, presumably to cool off. Both the pool and sea made a welcome break from the blazing sun, which we made regular use of. If you can't stand the heat then maybe July/August is too hot for you!

    Holiday

    We had what we wanted from this holiday which was a relaxing, and re-energising break. We didn't take any trips or tours but took long leisurely walks together, particularly around the harbour side of the resort.
    We met a lovely Turkish lady who swam each morning from the wall, Sarin a local hotelier(Han Han Hotel.) She was very friendly and invited us to her home for a drink which we accepted on our last night's stay.
    We have been to Turkey many times before and always enjoy it enormously!

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • LAST 2 VISITS TO ALTINKUM

    Review by: STEVE GRIFFITHS

    Weather

    CAN'T FAULT THE WEATHER HERE IF YOU WANT SUN GO TO ALTINKUM,NEVER SEEN A CLOUD FOR TWO WEEKS AND 40'c.

    Holiday

    FANTASTIC PLACE ALL THE PEOPLE WERE VERY HELPFUL AND POLITE, ,TURKEY IS AN UP AND COMING HOLIDAY DESTINATION RESORT CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • My Holiday in Altinkum

    Review by: Lorraine

    Weather

    We have been in July, May and September. May was prone to showers, July was very hot sometimes unbearable and September was hot but bearable. I would say that I enjoyed September the best

    Holiday

    We went with friends and had a marvelous time. I always said that I would never go to the same place twice (to many places to see and all that) but we have now been to Turkey 9 times and Altinkum 7 times. I think that speaks for itself.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Holiday in Altinkum May 2008

    Review by: Anonymous

    Weather

    Although we had 2 dull days it was warm. The weather the rest of the holiday was perfect. In the evening you would need a coat.. I have been here in July and you certainly dont need a coat then.

    Holiday

    Fantastic holiday. We just love the beaches and the Turkish people, very welcoming and loved the children. A very relaxing holiday.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

  • Turkish Delight

    Review by: Anna

    Weather

    Very sunny and warm, but not too hot (in first 2 weeks of May), in the afternoon needed cardigan. Just the sea was a bit cold.

    Holiday

    Very relaxing, hotel was very nice, staff very friendly. There are lots of interesting places to see
    e.g : Ephesus, Pamukkale etc.

    Recommend Altinkum to others?

    Yes

Altinkum : Next 24-Hour Weather

Tomorrow - 4th March 2024

Sunrise 06:43

Sunrise

Sunset 18:12

Sunset
1:00
6°C (41°F)
2:00
5°C (41°F)
3:00
5°C (41°F)
4:00
5°C (40°F)
5:00
4°C (39°F)
6:00
4°C (38°F)
7:00
6°C (41°F)
8:00
7°C (44°F)
9:00
8°C (46°F)
10:00
10°C (49°F)
11:00
11°C (51°F)
12:00
12°C (52°F)
13:00
12°C (53°F)
14:00
12°C (53°F)
15:00
12°C (53°F)
16:00
12°C (53°F)
17:00
10°C (49°F)
18:00
9°C (47°F)
19:00
8°C (46°F)
20:00
8°C (46°F)
21:00
8°C (45°F)
22:00
8°C (45°F)
23:00
7°C (45°F)

Tomorrow - 5th March 2024

Sunrise 06:43

Sunrise

Sunset 18:12

Sunset
0:00
7°C (44°F)