Algarve: Average Review Ratings

Average Review Ratings for Algarve

Weather:
4.0
Holiday:
4.5
Accommodation:
4.5
Food:
4.5
Nightlife:
4.0
Overall:
4.5
ADD A REVIEW

Been to Algarve?
Add your review to this page....

Brian Marron

1. The Monica Isabel Algarve

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
5

Weather

My partner and I have just had 10 lovely nights at the Monica Isabel Beach Club, Albufeira for the second time this year. Sometimes when you return its not the same, but this time was even better and we had good weather for the middle of October.

Holiday

We had a really great holiday, the room was lovely the food was good and the drink was superb.
This is a good hotel with friendly staff, great location and we would recommend The Monica Isabel to anyone.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Brian Marron

2. Vitors plaza

Weather:
4
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
4
Food:
4
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
4

Weather

Very warm but also breezy at times, making the weather more than bearable.

Holiday

Very good destination for a summer break!

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

Carol Lackiss and Marco

3. transfers in the algarve

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

It was the first time I went to portugal,
I asked the hotel to book the transfer from the airport to the hotel, I was travelling with the company Transfers Team, fantastic reception very good company, friendly driver, nice cars, service, very very good price fully advise, is a new transportation company in the algarve, but with a very good service has wi fi free.
I loved thanks Miss driver fantástia

Holiday

all

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Carol Lackiss and Marco

4. winter break

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
2
Overall:
4

Weather

the weather was beautiful , warm sunny but not too hot, for all of 6 days and 1 day overcast but still lovely.

Holiday

we did a lot of walking from accomodation which was 20 mins from anywhere we wanted to go, the beach was beautiful and long, not to many people on it, the water was refreshing and lovely, not cold. we ate out for breakfast and dinner, in the many restaurants in Lagos, ranging from fantistic to good. the boat trips are expensive but worth going on. if u want an experance try the birdwatching river trip , even if u arenot interested in birds, its one u wont forget, and will laugh at for years..

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

Edward Findlater

5. See ALBUFERIA and the surrounding area

Weather:
4
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
4
Food:
4
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
4

Weather

I have visited the Algarve 7 times and only have had one holiday when the weather was not so good.

I usually go for the month of March when the weather is usually around 60 - 74 degrees Fahrenheit but it can get a little cold in the evening,

Holiday

I visit lots of beaches, towns and markets. I play golf but it is rather expensive.

Restaurants are plentiful and very reasonable.

I always stay in Albufeira which is the tourist hub with Lots of good bars that carry most sport events including the English Premier League.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Edward Findlater

6. summer in albufeira

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

Last summer (June 2012) the weather was glorious... not one drop of rain for 2 weeks with just sun and blue skies!

Holiday

Fabulous, my husband, two sons and daughter along with their partners made our holiday as the company was great we were spoiled for two weeks.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

alex robertson

7. Our winter month in Albufeira

Weather:
3
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
4

Weather

We had 2 weeks where it was wet and 2 weeks of lovely sunshine but always warm throughout.

Holiday

Great. Especially when it was freezing back in England.

Going back for two weeks this April.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
alex robertson

8. June and August 2012

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

Both months we had perfect weather. August was near 40 degrees. Perfect

Holiday

Perfect on both occasions. We stayed in Almancil each time. Meals and drinks are very cheap compared to the UK. Lovely friendly people.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

veronica mcinerney

9. my holiday in algarve

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

Weather very good- 29 degrees.

Holiday

First time there and we really, really enjoyed ourselves.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
veronica mcinerney

Kate Carter

10. My first visit to Algarve

Weather:
1
Holiday:
2
Accommodation:
5
Food:
1
Nightlife:
1
Overall:
3

Weather

The weather was terrible! We went 26 April 2012 for 10 days, and it rained every day- the wind was relentless and it was cold.

We stayed in a gorgeous villa near Gale beach.
Location was fantastic and it must be a beautiful place to be when the weather is nice.

Our villa had a pool which we were unable to use because it was so cold, wet and windy.

We found eating out to be very expensive and reverted to the food hall at Algarve Shopping mall, Guia (near Albufeira).

We went to a restaurant at Gale beach and ordered Chicken Piri Piri. Big mistake! They served bits of chicken on bones and gave us a bottle of Piri Piri sauce. And then charged us 50 Euro - there were 3 of us and we only had 1 drink of orange each!

On our second Saturday we were shocked when 2 men came to our villa asking us to give money to a charity. We did not like them as they spoke aggressively and were very pushy. Luckily our villa was secure and they could not get passed the locked gate. We found this incident a bit unnerving.

However, in general we found Portugese people to be very friendly and some tried to speak English to help.

Holiday

Unfortunately, due to bad weather and costly food (eg a water melon cost 7 Euros), for the first time ever, we were happy when the day came to go home.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Kate Carter

maragaret hepburn

11. great value

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
4
Food:
3
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
5

Weather

March 25th 2012: weather was great- about 70 degrees.

Holiday

Stayed in Pateo Village Apartments it was only 10 euros a night and very clean.

Had a separate bedroom, which was a great size.

It was very quiet.

But take warm clothes for bedtime as it was very cold during the night.

Make sure you ask at reception for extra blankets and an extra heater.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
maragaret hepburn

12. holiday

Weather:
4
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
3
Food:
5
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather was so hot that we needed to find shade at times. We got a great tan in just 7 days, there wasnt a cloud in the sky.

Holiday

We stayed in self catering which was great, the beach was just a 7min walk away. The supermarket was also a few min walk away which was very convenient. I wish we could have stayed a lot longer!

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

13. Sao Bras de Alportel

Weather:
4
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
4
Food:
3
Nightlife:
2
Overall:
4

Weather

Weather was fabulous. It was our first visit to Portugal as we normally visit family in Cyprus. First thing that struck me was the lack of humidity - just hot, dry and beautiful.

Holiday

It was a family villa holiday and it was brilliant. We were only a 5 minute walk from the old town of Sao Bras and we loved it. The people were friendly and the service was good, usually with lots of laughter (possibly at us, but what the heck! ;-0)

It was most definitely not expensive.

We hired a car from TravelRent at Faro airport and they were really good.

We fell in love with Sao Bras de Alportel. My husband and I are returning for 4 nights in early October.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

14. My holiday in the Algarve

Weather:
4
Holiday:
3
Accommodation:
4
Food:
4
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
3

Weather

The weather was very mixed. Most mornings were cloudy but comfortably warm with the cloud clearing by mid afternoon. We had occasional light showers. During our 9 day holiday we had only 2 clear sunny days. However, all this said, I found the climate very agreeable as we could comfortably walk around and sightsee without being cooked alive and then return to our villa to sunbathe later in the day.

Holiday

We stayed in a villa in a quiet area. I did not feel safe as the villa had an alarm system, security blinds, and a safe. The villa company issued us with much security advice which was unsettling. When we returned home I researched crime in the Algarve and was alarmed to discover the number of burglaries that had occured to villas in the Villamoura/Loule area and violent muggings of tourists. The Foreign Office issued a warning to tourist on 31st May 2011 warning them it was not safe.

Recommend Algarve to others

No

Review by :
Anonymous

15. albuferia,algarve in febuary...!

Weather:
4
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
4
Food:
5
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
4

Weather

I arrived in Faro airport around 12.30pm on Monday and the weather was nice, sunny and quiet warm...

Tuesday was another lovely day, very sunny again...

Wednesday was quiet overcast and cloudy but by no means cold.

Thursday was the best day: very warm and sunny.

I would rate weather overall 5/5. t was not perfect but for this time of year it was exceptional and made a big change from February weather in Ireland..

I wore very light tops during the days and was never cold (Wednesday excluded).

Evening times did get cooler and you would need a cardigan. Temperatures ranged fom 16-19 degrees.

Mostly sunny during the day.

Holiday

I really enjoyed my stay in Albuferia.

I wouldn't recommend Albuferia at this time of year for people looking for a lively nightlife holiday as most places on the strip were closed for the winter season..

If thats what you want, you won't find it here, although this was perfect for me as i went on my own to relax..

The people of Albuferia were very helpful and friendly. The food was great and I am very fussy and usually drop a few pounds when holidaying.

I stayed in the Hotel Topazio, which was in a great location: a 2 minute walk from the strip, a 5 minute walk from the beach and directly across from Kiss night club, a major Albuferia hot spot. But it was also closed in February.

Great value for money and spotlessly clean floors washed in the room every day.

I did find that taxis were very expensive and would book a shuttle bus from airport to hotel (at least 36 hours before). Also you can hop on the Noddy train, which will bring you from the new town (strip) to the old town. A must do, and a day pass is e3.50.

All in all i had a great holiday and hope to return again this year....!

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

16. Anniversary in algarve

Weather:
1
Holiday:
2
Accommodation:
3
Food:
3
Nightlife:
1
Overall:
1

Weather

Arrived on Saturday around 7pm. Found it to be pretty cold in the evenings.

Sunday we woke to sunshine which quickly changed to cloud.

The rest of the week it rained everyday. Two of those days it was non stop which was disappointing.

Definately should have packed a brolly and an overcoat.

Holiday

Miserable... As the weather was bad and the resort we stayed at closed most of its resort down, (out of season) we ended up spending 75% in our hotel room.

This was, for an All Inclusive holiday, a disaster. We hoped for more being it was our 20th year wedding anniversary.

To do anything we had to walk 30 mins to the train station and go to another resort but the weather never changed.

Hotel staff where fantastically friendly and kept us supplied in copious mounts of alcohol. This still didn't manage to dull the disappointment.

On booking I was informed my hotel was 10 minutes away and therefore a taxi ride would be more cost effective then a bus transfer. Well we jumped into the cab at Faro airport and 45 mins and 53 euros later, we arrived.

When we left I got a cab to the train station, then, train to the airport. A total of 20 euros. What a difference.

This was our first time to Portugal and maybe we just got unlucky with the weather, unfortunately it's enough to make us NEVER return to the Algarve.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

17. My holiday in the Algarve, Vilamoura

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

We went to the Algarve during the summer. We have been going to the Algarve for many years. Every year the weather is beautiful. One day the thermometre showed it was 42degrees C. That was an especially hot day.

Holiday

The holiday was perfect.
The accommidation was fantastic.
We spent long summer days lolling by the exquisite kidney shaped pool.
We quaffed copious quantities of iced coke and super, super bock.
Alongside this we enjoyed crispy salted ruffles.
By night we gorged ourselves on steak, lobster and the finest seafood. The finest red wine or cold, frothing lager proved the perfect accompaniment.
We loved it SO much we are going again this year!!!! This is our 4th year in a row!!!

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

Elizabeth Collins

18. Algarve holiday

Weather:
4
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
4
Food:
4
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
5

Weather

We spent two weeks in Algarve, May 16th through to May 30th. The weather was beautiful everyday. A little cool at night but the days were hot and sunny.

Holiday

Stayed at Jardim do Vau and it was lovely, it was everything we expected and more. Has a 4th floor with two bedrooms and a private sundeck, it couldn't have been better.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Elizabeth Collins

19. Algarve

Weather:
3
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
4
Food:
5
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
4

Weather

Like Mariana, when the sun shone it was lovely. Arrived on 11th April and it was sunny for the first few days then it was very mixed, thunderstorms, heavy showers and windy. We were caught up in the Icelandic volcano eruption and our holiday was extended by 4 days.

Holiday

Stayed in Vilamoura, which was nice but could be expensive, although there were some very reasonable eating places and bars. Played golf as well which was very enjoyable although expensive. Being a purpose built resort I found it to be a lot smaller than I had imagined.
We were caught up in the Icelandic volcano eruption and our holiday was extended by 4 days, and were relocated to Albufeira which was bigger and a really enjoyed what it had to offer. Would definately go back there. It was also much more reasonable price wise, including the golf.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

20. stayed just out side Lagos , what a great place

Weather:
3
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
3
Food:
5
Nightlife:
2
Overall:
4

Weather

I've just returned and the weather was not great, although when the sun came out it was warm and beautiful

Holiday

What a great time we had, we rented a car and spent alot of time exploring off the beaten track, the peopl were all friendly and helpful.
Beautiful country side and wild flowers.
Lagos was a great town!

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

Sonja Eaton

21. our holidays in the algarve

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
2
Overall:
5

Weather

We've been going to Portugal for the last 20 years, been at christmas, April, June and October, very hot in june but perfect in october, even xmas is nice, enough for t shirts in the day and a cardy in the evening.

Holiday

We have loved every holiday we've had in Portugal, we've stayed in hotels, villas and apartments, we book now through owners direct, and would highly recommend it, you wouldnt meet nicer people in such a clean country.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Sonja Eaton

Susan Mcleod

22. The best golfing and family holiday ever!

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
4
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
4

Weather

We had a family holiday last September, two golfers out of four and the weather was ideal.

Sunny and around 64 degrees F when we teed off each day around 8am rising to high 70's F in the afternoon for the beach and swimming pool.

Kids loved it as did the adults.

Holiday

It was a classic family holiday catering for mum, dad, boy aged 14 and 2 girls aged 8 and 10.

Golf, swimming in the pool adjacent to our luxuary golfing apartment and frequent trips to the beaches around Lagos on the Western Algarve.

Great restuarants in and around Lagos from simple and cheap beach cafe's to gourmet dinning for the adults.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Susan Mcleod

23. Abifuira and Villamoura-

Weather:
1
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
4
Food:
4
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
4

Weather

Holidayed between Sunday 28th Feb 2010 to Thursday 4th March 2010.

I stayed in Quinta de Balaia and played golf in Villamoura each day.

Sunday started off nice and sunny then thunder storms after 1pm.

Monday was lovely all day, sunny and bright about 15-16 degrees.

Tuesday was dull with a few showers but the showers only lasted 5 minutes at a time then cleared up and it was warm.

Wednesday was the worst rain ive ever seen but after 1.30pm it wasnt too bad. Over cast with a few spots of rain.

Having spoken to the locals it appears this is the worst weather they have had in 30 years and its been like this on and off for three months now.

Holiday

Holiday was good.

Villa was fantastic for location. Taxi fares were very reasonable, the people really friendly.

Most bars were just 2 Euros a pint (Sagres) although the golf courses were double that and more.

Supermarkets are cheap as is expected I suppose.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

Eddie Byrne

24. Great place, awful weather.

Weather:
1
Holiday:
2
Accommodation:
2
Food:
2
Nightlife:
2
Overall:
2

Weather

I arrived in the Algarve on February 25th and left on March 2nd.

The weather, with the exception of Monday was terrible.

Storms bashed the coast and we had to wear coats for most of our stay.

Holiday

Very few places open. Shops hotels and restaurants were being painted and made ready for the summer season. I would not go this early in the year again.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Eddie Byrne

Lynne Haigh

25. holiday in algarve

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
4
Food:
4
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

We have been to the Algarve twice a year for the last 6 years and we have had glorious weather every time.

If we got rain it was a shower and then it was over, we have only had one thunderstorm whilst we've been there and that lasted a whole day and night. But out of 14 days that's not bad.

Holiday

Fantastic, we rested during the day and lived it up every night, plenty to do and you can be as quiet or as busy as you like.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Lynne Haigh

26. praia da oura

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather was great for first week in november, beautiful blue skies, golden sun with the occasional wispy cloud.

Holiday

Our holiday was a total chill out break, the beach being the most important aspect we just loved it.
We were self catering and staying at the Clube Praia Da Oura (K block) they were great apartments very clean, plenty of room, and well equipped with utensils, you even get supplied with fairy liquid and a sponge. It has on site entertainment too which was, again, excellent.
We found a lovely little restaurant, about 1 minutes walk from the apartment and spent most nights there, it was very laid back and the food was really good, without being to expensive it was called Manjella.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

STEVE THOMAS

27. BEAUTIFUL PORTUGAL

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

THE WEATHER WAS ABSOLUTELY GREAT FOR MID NOVEMBER.

IT IS HOTTER AT THIS TIME OF YEAR IN PORTUGAL THAN IT IS IN ENGLANDS MIDSUMMER.

NEVER LESS THAN 25 DEGREES EVERYDAY.

BIT CHILLIER AT NIGHT THOUGH BUT STILL GOT BY WITH JUST A JUMPER.

Holiday

WE STAYED IN MONTE GORDO WHERE THE WALK ALONG THE PROMENADE IS SO GREAT.

WE WENT TO THE CHINESE AND INDIAN RESTAURANTS MOST OF THE WEEK AND THE QUALITY AND PRICE IN BOTH WAS EXCELLENT.

WE HAVE NEVER BEEN TO THIS PART OF PORTUGAL BEFORE BUT NOW WE WOULDN'T GO TO ANY OTHER PART.

IT IS TOTALLY UNSPOILT AND SO CLOSE TO THE BORDER WITH SPAIN SO YOU CAN HAVE THE BEST OF BOTH COUNTRIES FOR VALUE FOR MONEY.

THIS WAS THE BEST HOLIDAY I HAVE EVER HAD AND THE HOTEL WAS IMMACULATE.

THE AREA IS SO NICE THAT WE ARE GOING TO BUY A VILLA OR APARTMENT HOPEFULLY SOMEWHERE NEAR CASTRO MARIM.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
STEVE THOMAS

28. Monte Gordo, Portugal.

Weather:
4
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
2
Food:
2
Nightlife:
1
Overall:
3

Weather

Very good for beginning of November!
Was slightly chilly in morning but by 11am the sun shone and then the weather became cooler around 4.30pm
when you needed a jacket......at night
warm jacket..

Holiday

Quiet village - lovely walks and a beautiful beach to stroll along and paddle in the sea, though the water was exceedingly cold.
Lots of places to visit via buses and coach trips,even a boat trip to Spain : 10 minutes over a river......

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

29. my holiday in portugal

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather in Portugal was lovely, it was a fantastic holiday.

Some days it was in the 30's, very good. Others a bit breezy but that didn't matter.

Overall the weather was the best ever.

Holiday

My holiday was fantastic, I had a great time playing in the swimming pool and down the beach.

The appartments i stayed in were the Janelas do Mar. They were brilliant, fantasticly clean and were a good size for a family. The receptionist was always there to help. If i went again, which i will, i would defanatly go there.

The only problem was it was a bit out the way but it was only a 10min walk down to the strip, but on the other hand taxi's didnt cost much.

Most nights we went to the Irish bar just around the corner wich was fantastic, the young girl that worked there and even the owners where very nice.

We never had a bad meal, every bit of food was lovely.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

30. our hols in praira da rocha

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

This weather was unbelievable, SUN SUN SUN and then more SUN. We couldn't believe how hot it was in October!!http://www.youtube.comv=NmeSp7HAhNQ/watch?

Holiday

We go to the Algarve every time we go away because it is sooooooooo beautiful and clean, also we feel safe having a stroll in the evening. The people are so friendly and helpful , the apartments we stayed in were the best cleansed we have ever been to and the lady at reception called Laura was so helpful nothing was a problem for her, she wants to make everyone who stays there happy and for them to enjoy thier holiday.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

31. Clube Alvorferias in Alvor

Weather:
5
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
3
Food:
3
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
4

Weather

The weather was hot and a good breeze during the day that makes pleasant, but very warm when the wind drops at night.

Holiday

The holiday was fantastic the resort was very good and friendly staff, the apartments are very good in size.

There was only one problem and that was stray cats, the apartment below us had 7 cats and it smelt as the people did not clean up the mess.

But we were out a lot so it did not spoil the holiday.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

32. My 2009 holiday in tht Algarve!!

Weather:
5
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
3
Food:
4
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
4

Weather

The weather was amazing, like always.
Very hot and a bit of a breeze.
still lovely and warm in the evening but do take a cardie if your out late.

Holiday

My holiday was brilliant. I would recommened the algarve to anyone of all ages.
I came here last year and stayed at the Lake resort which is so lovely, the rooms are really nice big and trendy, but unfortunatly the hotel was full this year so we decided to stay at another hotel called the Tivoli but it not wasn´t as good, so i won´t be staying there again!!

Recommend Algarve to others

No

Review by :
Anonymous

33. Algarve Holiday!

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather was really hot in july i walked around in my bikini most of the time and shorts.

At night it cools down a bit but its still shorts and t-shirt weather.

Great if you want a good tan ;)

Holiday

I went with my friends who are aged from 17 - 20 in the day we went on the beach and at night we went down the strip in all the bars and clubs.
I strongly recommend the clubs bars and resturants for a good night out :)

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

Lisa Dee

34. Great Beaches!!!

Weather:
4
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
4
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

Been going to the Algarve for ten year and mostly had great weather. Most days sunny some days a bit of cloud still very cool in the night. so take a jumper. the breezes off the sea is lovely when sun bathing!

Holiday

We had a great time and spent most days on the beach. Went out every night had some great dinners in Big reds Ribshack the boys loved the big racks of ribs! And then i say BIG. Plenty of choice on menu. Friendly waiter called George who made our holiday by looking after us.

We also went to zoo marina great day out lots to see.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Lisa Dee

35. Alvor Holiday

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

We have been to the Algarve in,November,March,September and October,each time the sun shines warmly.You always need sun protection.

Holiday

We have been to Albuferia(old town) March,the Portugese were so attentive,restaurant and bar staff speak perfect English and interact well with tourists.
The same can be said for Alvor and Praia da Rocha. Restaurants are of a high standard with first class meals.Alvor is not for the young,Praia da Rocha has all the night clubs as does Montechoro.
Alvor is better suited to middle age people but the entertainment is excellent as is the beach.
Alvor is traditionally a fishing village and very Portugese thats why we love it. We stay S.C. in Alvormar apts,its so central,clean friendly.
The poolside is limited but it never bothered us,going back soon its home to home for us.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

36. Algarve - Perfect Holiday!

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather was like the summer we have in England in July/August.
The sun is perfect with a slow summer breeze.
Perfect weather for a perfect vacation.

Holiday

My holiday was superb - The accomodation (CERRO MAR APARTMENTS) was a great stay, with helpful and friendly staff and beautiful, balcony views of the calm gentle sea and the gorgeous, sandy beaches.
The food was great summing up a great vacation.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

Eric And Bridget Craven

37. Stunning October Sunshine

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
4
Nightlife:
2
Overall:
5

Weather

October in the Algarve is like high summer in the UK.
We were lying by the pool in our Alvor villa and it was impossible to believe that people in the UK were trudging to work in the cold and the wet.

Holiday

A real holiday. Spent either round the pool or at the beach, with a good meal most evenings in Alvor.
We rented a Villa at the Alto Golf and Country Club from www.independentvillas.co.uk, who also organised a car and flights from Stansted.
It was luxury, but cost around the same as a modest package.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Eric And Bridget Craven

Sandra Finnigan

38. can't fault it

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

We went the first 2 weeks in September.it was between 26 and 29 degree every day.waking up to clear blue skys and brilliant sunshine every mornig.

Holiday

We have been to Albufeira 7 times and have just booked again for next year.
We normally stay in Montechoro area as it is pretty central,and we don't mind the walk down to the old town
If we won the lottery we wouldn't hesitate to move to Portugal.we have made lots of friends over the years.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Sandra Finnigan

John Compton

39. holiday in albufiera

Weather:
4
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
4
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
4

Weather

Very good including May July September and October sunny sunny sunny and more sun and even more sun no fog or snow

Holiday

Perfect on all five occasions everything about it was perfect the food is perfect the weather excellent the people great the oranges out of this world and the best holidays I have ever had

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
John Compton

Jane Sarah Chappell

40. Our Holiday in the Algarve - Guia in May

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather in Guia was lovely throughout with one day of light rain and fairly strong winds, used that day for a lovely drive through the countryside. Most days it was very warm without being uncomfortable.

Holiday

The holiday was everything wanted and then some, the Villa we stayed in was first class, the maid service brilliant, the rep was there if you needed her but not trying to push excursions etc.
The locals were very nice throughout every town we visited and we had a fantastic holiday.
The Zoomarine is worth every penny in every way it was great fun we went twice!
The Algarve Shopping Centre is good and a really good food court with lots of different country's foods plus it is open till late, the supermarket is reasonable and has good choices.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Jane Sarah Chappell

41. Praia da Luz

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
4
Food:
5
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
5

Weather

Have visited several times this year and weather has been hot and sunny apart from 1 days rain but still warm and able to swim in the rain.

Holiday

Luz is a perfect resort for everyone young and old. Still has its village atmosphere, and one of the friendliest places around. Had some great meals and evenings out, Top 3 Restaurants - Amici (Italian), Dolphin (South African) Chaplins (English). Beautiful Beach and Lagos worth visiting for a lively night out.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

42. Praia da Luz the perfect quiet relaxing Algarve resort

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

We have been to Praia Da Luz 3 times, in May,September and November and each time the weather has been excellent. Hot and sunny with a gentle breeze which is lovely. Even in November we never needed a jacket, it was shorts and t-shirts every day. Perfect!

Holiday

Fantastic holiday each time we go.Time to relax by the pool or a short stroll down to the excellent beach. Hired a car at Faro airport and it is a pleasure to drive in the Algarve. Roads are well signposted and the motorway from Faro Airport to Praia da Luz is first class. Eating out is another pleasure, we have been to most of the restaurants in Praia da Luz and the food is excellent, staff extremely pleasant and friendly and can't do enough for you. We look forward to going back each time for the food alone.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

43. My holiday in Algarve Cabanas

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

Excellent THE WEATHER IS GREAT BECAUSE THERE IS A NICE BREEZE ALL THE TIME. IT IS NOT TOO HOT AT NIGHT

Holiday

EXCELLENT WE STAYED IN THE GOLDEN CLUB APARTMENTS IN CABANAS. EXCELLENT FACILITIES AND KIDDIES CLUB.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

44. Portugal the place to go

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather in Portugal is nearly always fantastic - no matter what time of year.
We went in January this year and were walking around in t-shirts and shorts!
It did rain a few times but it didnt last long and was still warm so u didnt need a coat.

Holiday

Our holiday was fantastic, Portugal is fantastic!
We have been to Portugal 7 times in the past 2 years because we love it so much, and we're going again this week!
We stay in villas from James villas so our holidays are always 'home from home' so to speak.
Can't wait to get back to Portugal, this time we are staying in Gale - quiet place but only 15 mins from the main Albufeira strip, so all good!

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

G OWENS

45. OUR 2ND HOME!!!

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather is always hot, make sure to wear plenty suncream. Being by the pool is great though as you can dip and keep cool! The nights are fairly warm, just nice though to have a stroll!

Holiday

Our holiday is fab, everytime we go. We stay in Vilamoura, in apartments called Pinhal da Marina. Can highly recommend this place to saty. Staff very friendly, cant do enough for you!

The marina is a lovely place and is only a short work. All amenities are close as well.

We class the algarve as our second home! Once you get there you never want to come home!! We go again in 2 weeks time!

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
G OWENS

46. my holiday in portugal, algave :)

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
3
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

Weather is fab, always hot - wear lots of sun cream as you get burnt easily.
At night its not roasting but not cold just the perfect temp for a walk down one of the beaches or just down the streets!
You wake up at normal temp and you will walk outside and be like WHOA 'cause it will be hot, only bad thing about the weather is cars heat up so much, so if you plan on getting a taxi anywhere or hiring a car make sure its parked in the shade!

Holiday

Everyone loves Portugal...
Of course they do : its a fantastic place to go to. the nightlife in Albufeira is amazing, I am going there in 20 days for the FOURTH time! :)
Food is pretty simple, chips pizzas and all that jazz but who goes on holiday to sit and eat crap?...
Lots of sights to see, I'm not a big fish fan myself but we went to fishermans beach/creek one day and it was great, great day out.
On your way home you won't want to leave.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous

Terry COLLINS

47. holiday in praia de luz

Weather:
2
Holiday:
2
Accommodation:
2
Food:
3
Nightlife:
1
Overall:
2

Weather

Weather was okay,it was October time ,always windy ,generally a bit overcast but always warm.
I don't think it rained during our stay .

Holiday

People love Portugal -
Why ?
It's a sort of time warp Spain but its bleak on the coast ,the mountains are nice but how many views do you need to get bored .
Service is awful in shops and most restaurants although i have to say that the Dolphin Restaurant in Luz was spectacular ,not for location but the food wow !!
Easy to reach most places as one road runs the length of the Algarve - you do need a car. its altogether too laid back for me .
The villa we stayed at featured in the tv programme Sunburn with Michelle Collins (Star Villas)

Recommend Algarve to others

No

Review by :
Terry COLLINS

Sandra Mills

48. praida da roche

Weather:
3
Holiday:
1
Accommodation:
1
Food:
3
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
3

Weather

Weather was good went in January 2008 for a month the first few days were bad but after that was good.

Holiday

As a self catering holiday : not very good. We had to eat out every day because the accomodation we stayed in was not geared up to self catering it was the Praida da Roche Hotel DON'T STAY THERE the resort is good if you like nightclubs and fantastic for the young. the beach is out of this world very good.

Recommend Algarve to others

No

Review by :
Sandra Mills

Karen Connolly

49. Duas Quintas bed and breakfast

Weather:
4
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
4
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
4

Weather

Weather was fantastic, but that's not unusual for Portugal . No matter what time of year I go it always seems to be sunny. Of course it's not always scorching but the winters there are lovely and mild.

Holiday

We stayed at this beautiful bed and breakfast called Duas quintas which was a restored farmhouse near Silves. Honestly the place was beautiful, completely surrounded by orange trees and all sorts of other fruit trees. The hosts were wonderful and so were the bed and breakfast facilities. The only downside was to book you couldn't do it on any of the main travel websites. You had to contact them directly through their site http://www.algarveguesthouse.com This was kind of nice in the end as it felt like we had really found something special.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Karen Connolly

Lynne Haigh

50. my holiday in the algarve

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
4
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

we find the weather great in the algarve, we haven't had a lot of rain when we've been just an odd shower. we find the gentle breeze from the sea helps to keep it pleasant

Holiday

we love it we've travelled as far as from lagos to faro. we ride the main line buses also the local ones and we like the freedom of travelling when and where we want.the people are really pleasant and very helpful. there's so much to see and do.

Recommend Algarve to others

Yes

Review by :
Lynne Haigh

Your Holiday Weather Settings

Show temperature in:
Show distance in: