Holiday Weather

Gran Canaria: Average Review Ratings

Average Review Ratings for Gran Canaria

Weather:
4.5
Holiday:
4.5
Accommodation:
4.0
Food:
4.5
Nightlife:
4.0
Overall:
4.5
ADD A REVIEW

Been to Gran Canaria?
Add your review to this page....

Author visit date: 11th August 2014 for 19 days

1. Bahia blanca Puerto Rico

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
4
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
5

Weather

Weather was spectacular.

Very hot not a cloud in sight.

28 degrees from 8am till 8 pm.

Air con in August is essential it's much too hot without.

Holiday

Absolutely lovely holiday. Ammodores beach and restaurants are excellent . I have eaten in every restaurant they are all very friendly some are a bit pushy to get you to sit down but either way you won't be disappointed.

Palm beach is a favourite and the Chinese buffet for 7 euros 90 per head as much as you could eat. Couldn't keep my 16/17/18 year old boys away . (they did manage to fill their bellies) The buffet includes all steaks, fish ect cooked in front of you.

Taxis are cheap.

One negative is that the beach shops are mega expensive it will cost you 7 euros for a bag of crisps and bottle of coke .. Cheaper to sit down or you can get takeaways on the beach from any of the restaurants.. Shops are a rip off.

For a very classy day out go to Ammodores beach club. Food and the surroundings are exquisite.. Waiter served cocktails by the pool. Basic sun bed price 12 euros are well worth it for a treat. Saturday and sunday are great days to visit very busy and good music.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 28th September 2014

Author visit date: 12th May 2014 for 14 days

2. Rui Club Hotel Los melonairas May 2014xcept for a few cloudy days

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
1
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

Except for a few cloudy days weather was fantastic in the high 20 degrees and some 30 degrees the whole of the 2 weeks.

Holiday

As usual very good we have been staying at Rui Club Hotel for the past 7 years, twice a year.

We have visited Gran Canaria since the 70's as we live near Torquay Exeter Airport which is only 20 miles away, with only one flight a week it's essential to book early.

I had the experience of the local state hospital (diabetic) in out within 50 mins but do not forget your E111 card.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 14th September 2014

Bridget Sutton visit date: 8th August 2014 for 7 days

3. My 1st holiday in Gran Canaria

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather was absolutely lovely making everything look and feel so clean and bright, which it was.
I stayed at the Gold by Marina which had recently just opened. I was a little bit worried just in case it wasn't ready but on arrival I couldn't believe how lucky I was it was amazing.
The staff were so friendly and helpful and our room was gorgeous so clean and modern every detail was perfect. I loved my stay and would definitely go back as I felt so well while out there totally relaxed and chilled.
Just have to save the money to go back and enjoy this lovely place while I still can travel due to a bad back condition which felt better while I was there .

Holiday

My holiday overall was relaxing.
Saw things I never thought I would like the beautiful dunes. I experienced night life in different areas of the island which were all eye opening and interesting.the people were all friendly and helpful and everywhere was so clean.
The Aqua Park was great fun.
The evening market in Maspalomas was so lovely so many different things you could buy.
The quality of the goods were all very good.
Some pretty amazing work had gone into making them, very talented and dedicated people to their craft and very well priced.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Bridget Sutton, added on 25th August 2014

Author visit date: 26th August 2013 for 14 days

4. my Holidays in Gran Canaria

Weather:
5
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
4
Food:
4
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
4

Weather

We have been visiting Gran Canaria since 2009 in late August to September present. During this time we have been staying at Playa Del Ingles and have only seen it rain at most twice.

Holiday

The holiday itself was brilliant, a 10/10!

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 5th July 2014

Author visit date: 1st May 2013 for 10 days

5. Amadores, Gran Canaria, the place to be.

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

Fantastic weather, glorious sunshine and a nice cool breeze. Perfect

Holiday

This was our first time in Gran Canaria, we opted to go to Amadores, I am so glad we did, what a beautiful resort. Very quiet and much more sophisticated than Puerto Rico. Wonderful beach, great restaurants. We stayed in the Terrazza Amadores Apartments, which I highly recommend. Loved it so much going back in mid Sept to the Serenity Amadores Apartments, for more relaxation and fantastic weather.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 3rd September 2013

Author visit date: 28th July 2013 for 12 days

6. Southern tip of Gran Canaria in August

Weather:
4
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
4
Food:
3
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
4

Weather

A couple of degrees above perfectly comfortable level, mostly 28-29C with a touch of breeze. Some days the sky is blue, others a tad murky. The ocean temp. is just right, a few degrees lower that the Caribbean which I find too warm.

Holiday

On the whole, very good to excellent.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 8th August 2013

Author visit date: 2nd February 2013 for 26 days

7. noise at night in PuertoRico

Weather:
5
Holiday:
1
Accommodation:
4
Food:
4
Nightlife:
1
Overall:
1

Weather

The weather was fantastic with wall to wall sunshine and 25 degrees C in February!

Holiday

Never slept at night for noise from several bars until 4am.

PeurtoRico must be the noisiest resort anywhere - the noise must be 6 times higher after midnight- it was horrific.

Can't believe how bars can get away with this noise after midnight.

Every person I met who stayed on the east side said the same thing and hotel staff say:
'noise at night is their major complaint and over the last 12 years it has killed the resort'.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

No

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 2nd March 2013

Jean and Joseph Dilbeigh visit date: 12th April 2012 for 10 days

8. Don't do all-inclusives!! - Book a holiday home on Gran Canaria

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
4
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather was lovely and warm.

A few afternoons were clouded over but the sun is so strong that you can even burn through the cloud so be careful.

About 5 full sunny days in total with not a speck of rain to be had!

And this was April !!!

Holiday

The holiday was great.

We stayed at a private holiday home which was a bit like a bungalow but on two floors. It was lovely!

Honestly, now we've tried renting holiday homes for our selves, we won't stay in a hotel again.

No crowds or hassle and we had the pools almost to our selves for the weekdays. Totally relaxing!

Think we saw the ad on a local classifieds site, Gumtree I think.
Anyway the place was called 'Casa Solomie', in Maspalomas which is a lovely place!

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Jean and Joseph Dilbeigh, added on 16th February 2013

Juan Carlos Villegas Principe visit date: 1st September 2012 for 5 days

9. The Geographic Tour & Camel Safari in Gran Canaria

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
4
Food:
4
Nightlife:
1
Overall:
5

Weather

Weather was amazing, the landscape wonderful.

Holiday

Amazing, we did so many activities

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Juan Carlos Villegas Principe, added on 20th September 2012

Author visit date: 6th August 2011 for 7 days

10. My holiday!

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
5

Weather

We went in August 2011, we were having a scorching heatwave and it was very hot! The weather was brilliant, but there was one day when it was a little overcast.

Holiday

Our hotel was called the Jardin del Sol Apartments in Playa del Ingles and it was the best! Our holiday was magnificent and we are going again on September 1st 2012!

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 27th August 2012

Julie Banks visit date: 11th July 2011 for 7 days

11. magic

Weather:
4
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather is lovely. Have been in January, March, July, August, September and October.
A little too hot in the summer months.

Holiday

Stayed in Puerto Rico. Lovely people and great places for food and drinks.

Have stayed at a lot of different hotels but you cant beat Casablanca or Trezzemar Apartments.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Julie Banks, added on 5th January 2012

Kathy Shaw visit date: 5th December 2011 for 7 days

12. nice break!!

Weather:
3
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
2
Food:
3
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
3

Weather

As it was Dec 5th, did I expect blue skies everyday?

However, we had 3 full sunshine days at 28/29 degrees, according to the temperature chart at the hotel.

The other days were overcast, but a warm 22 degrees, which disheartened me, but if you want heat, pick a better month.

Still warm enough for shorts and t-shirt. But anything is warm when your from England!

Holiday

We enjoyed this place: went to Puerto Rico, stayed at Colina Mar. Basic, however plenty of lovely resturaunts at the Europa centre and amusing entertainment at the Barbacoa bar in the evening. Plenty of bars.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Kathy Shaw, added on 17th December 2011

Catherine Ritchie visit date: 12th June 2010 for 7 days

13. We will always return to the Gran Canary and Anfi, it is the only place that We return to every year, even though we travel quite a bit.

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather is always good.

It is very warm in the afternoon so take care not to get sunburnt.

Always wear a high factor sun cream, and hat.

Happy holidays.

Holiday

Fantastic always. We have always stayed at Anfi Del Mar in Arguineguin: a five star complex through our time share.

We have been to the Gran Canary on numerous occasions, and still want to return and enjoy more of the Canarian lifestyle.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Catherine Ritchie, added on 27th April 2011

14. Holiday in Maspalomas - Lovely place, Great holiday

Weather:
4
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
5
Food:
3
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
4

Weather

The weather was lovely and warm. We had a few showers and a couple of cloudy days but after all it was January. The temperatures were about 23C by day and 17-18C by night. Sea temperatures were lovely.

Holiday

We have just got back from 2 weeks in Maspalomas, Gran Canaria. We've been a few times before but this time we decided to stay in a private holiday home instead of a package deal. Got cheap flights and transfers and absolutely no problems. Straight off plane, collect luggage and taxi driver waiting for us in airport arrivals. Very polite and friendly driver.

Stayed with Casa Solomie Holiday rental in Maspalomas. Really beautiful place in a private villa complex. For the price of the stay, we really thought we were in the wrong place. Very friendly agent looked after us and very peaceful and relaxing.

Try www.casasolomie.com - well recommended and will go back next summer, we hope.

Wonderful holiday all round and great for a Winter getaway. The mountains in the centre of the island are just breathtaking. Bit cold at the very top though! - Take a warm jumper or coat and a brolly might be a good idea in the mountains in winter!!!

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 24th January 2011

Author visit date: 30th July 2010 for 7 days

15. Great Holiday in Playa Del Ingles

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

I have been to Gran Canaria many times.
Every time I go there it is a great weather.
Just one day was rainy, but still it was not the same cold rain as elsewhere in Europe.

Holiday

Always have a great time in the Canarias!
Relaxed Spanish environment, sand beaches, beautiful mountains and a great tropical climate make your life seem much much nicer!
I usually enjoy the beach, night life, hiking, mountains, and sometimes shopping in Las Palmas.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 12th November 2010

Carrie-Anne Johnson visit date: 18th July 2009 for 7 days

16. PUERTO RICO

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

I have been to Puerto Rico 4 times
Once in May , once in June and twice in July and all 4 times the weather has been excellent :
Full sun everyday.
It has been lovely in the evening too

Holiday

All my holidays in Puerto Rico have been lovely, Weather has been lovely shops are excellent in the Europa centre : wide range of perfume, aftershave, spirits and tobacco. Good choice of pressies to bring home.
Restaurants are all lovely : Squires in particular definitely somewhere you could eat every night

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Carrie-Anne Johnson, added on 11th October 2010

Gary Porter visit date: 8th September 2010 for 15 days

17. andalucia park in gran canaria

Weather:
5
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
4
Food:
3
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
4

Weather

The weather was almost perfect, a little too hot, but the sun shone everyday and the breezes were welcome, the blue skies were really lovely to wake up to each morning and the sunsets were also beautiful too.

Holiday

Went away just on a whim, looking for some warm weather, peace and quiet and a bit of night life, we got all of those things here, its a great place with plenty of things to do, or just lie on the beaches! The accomodation we stayed at in Andalucia Park was second to none, it really was well worth the cost (not cheap @ 400pw) but would thoroughly recommend it for the overall quality and cleanliness of the place, there was also loads of space, it also had a garden - it was excellent.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Gary Porter, added on 27th September 2010

Author visit date: 26th April 2010 for 6 days

18. Skoda UK Motorsport rally team

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

Just arrived in Gran Canarias for Round 4 of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge, the Rally Islas Canarias 'Trofeo El Corte Ingles' (28 April-1 May). Partly cloudy today, some sunshine and no rain. Skoda UK Motorsport Fabia S2000 looking good. Recce starts tomorrow and the rally proper on Friday and Saturday. Any rally fans in Las Palmas, please come over to the service park and say hello.

Holiday

Guy Wilks might have been grounded by volcanic ash for much of his journey back to the UK from a recent rally test in Italy, but the Škoda UK Motorsport driver is aiming to fly high again when he tackles Round 4 of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge, the Rally Islas Canarias 'Trofeo El Corte Ingles' (28 April-1 May).

Guy was testing his Fabia S2000 in the mountains above Sanremo when British air space shut down last week. Quick thinking, a car journey from Italy to France, an internal Air France flight to Orly, three trains and a lot of running between ticket desks got Guy home.

Contingency plans have been put in place to get Guy and co-driver Phil Pugh to Gran Canarias by land and sea, but it looks like they’ll be able to fly directly from the UK as originally planned.

The Spanish island of Gran Canarias is located in the Atlantic Ocean about 93 miles (150kms) off the north-western coast of Africa and about 838 miles (1350kms) from Europe. Average daytime temperatures at this time of year are around 21°C (70°F), so Guy is expecting this to be his first dry asphalt rally in the Fabia S2000. He has also never contested the event before, so a good recce and a perfect car set-up will be essential if Guy is to score a hat-trick of consecutive IRC podium finishes, as the event promises to be extremely fast and furious.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 26th April 2010

Author visit date: 22nd March 2009 for 7 days

19. puerto rico gran can!

Weather:
4
Holiday:
3
Accommodation:
4
Food:
4
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
3

Weather

We have stayed here in March and April. The weather was fantastic, mid 20's through the day, got a great tan. Cool at night, needed a cardi, only very slightly chilly though, but I do like the heat, my husband was ok with just a t-shirt at night.

Holiday

Entertainment was very good in the resort, lot of good live entertainment, live bands, singers, comedians etc, Especially in the Irish bars. Puerto Rico is very commercialised, so if you really hate this scene - don't go there. I don't go out a lot at home but i really enjoyed the nightlife here. Not the clubs - i didn't bother with them, but i did enjoy the live entertainment in the pubs. Even took part in karaoke!! Would never do that at home!!

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 24th April 2010

Jane Harris visit date: 29th March 2010 for 7 days

20. Weather for April and places to visit

Weather:
4
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
4
Food:
5
Nightlife:
2
Overall:
5

Weather

Was about 23 to 29 on some days, some days a tad cloudy in the morning but cleared by lunch time, still got a lovley tan for the time of year and of course we had no rain. If it is cloudy I would recommend going to a differant resort on cloudy days, we were in Maspalomas but if you go to Puerto Rico you may catch some sun there as it seems more sheltered and of course further around to Mogan...

Holiday

Was fabulous as winter in UK has been so bad this year, it was lovley to have some sun and relaxation. The dunes at Maspalomas are very windy so the sea is so not safe for children, try Puerto Rico for a more sheltered safer beach for children or possibley Mogan...

Try going up in the mountains for day , we had a hire car and the flowers and trees are stunning with spectacular vista's of the mountains and valleys down below....not for faint hearted though as roads are narrow and windey.....

The food in most resturaunts is very good and spoilt for choice of either meat or fish and the salads are lovley and fresh...

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Jane Harris, added on 16th April 2010

Stephanie Palmer visit date: 10th January 2010 for 21 days

21. Great Accomodation in Playa del Ingles

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
4
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather was absolutely great, it was like a british summer, but the sun shone everyday and the sky was cloudless. Each day was about 24 degrees - just perfect and it was only february!

Holiday

The holiday was great, the accomodation was second to none, we stayed at Andalucia Park, which was really clean and excellent quality - it was also close enough to all the excitement etc, yet was lovely and peaceful at the same time.
- I think this is their website - definately recommend going there www.grancanaria-lettings.com

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Stephanie Palmer, added on 14th April 2010

Author visit date: 15th March 2010 for 7 days

22. First holiday without the kids

Weather:
5
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
3
Food:
5
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
4

Weather

Arrived to temperatures of around 23, these increased as the week went on topping one day at 33.

I was concerned after reading that some days were cloudy before we arrived but the cloud was sparse during our stay and great weather for sunbathing.

We came back with good tans. Sometimes it got a bit breezy but it did not bother us at all.

Holiday

Great. First time without the kids so we could do what we wanted, when we wanted to. No aqua parks for us!

First night blues in Play Des Inglis after travelling all day. Tired and confronted with pushy sales people trying to drag us into every bar/restaraunt or sell some dodgy sunglasses or hats. After this though everything was fantastic.

Hired a car and saw some great sites. Used bus one day which was no problem and half the price of taxis.

The food is really very good especially seafood which we both enjoy.

We arrived for the carnival weekend which was absolutely fantastic. One word of caution, if someone tries to tell you your the luckiest person in the Canaries and have just won 601 euros, you haven't. Walk away. They are time share conmen.

Enjoy the weather, the food, the sites and the people. It really is a lovely place.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 25th March 2010

Author visit date: 1st March 2010 for 7 days

23. Peurto Rico

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
3
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
3

Weather

Weather 26c, it became a bit windy at times but on the whole the weather was very good.

Puerto Rico is usually sunny but if you go North on a day trip expect it to be a lot cooler.

Holiday

Great holiday, a lot of walking though, I was at the top of the Sol Ya Pas apartments (they were fab).

I depended on buses and taxi's to go up and down to beach as it is quite a walk.

Nightlife is fab, try Harley's Bar

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 16th March 2010

Author visit date: 19th February 2010 for 7 days

24. Weather & Holiday

Weather:
4
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
4
Food:
5
Nightlife:
2
Overall:
4

Weather

Arrived 19th February and left 26th.

Mostly excellent weather; some cloud cover, some light winds but was actually sunbathing on the balcony for 1 hour each day between 9.30 - 10.30am.

Swam several times; took a bit of courage for intiial plunge but once in it is comfortable. Many people in the water but couldn't say that the temp was great.

During the day the weather often reached 23 degrees which was so pleasant. Cooler at night and definitely wore jeans and jacket/cardy when eating outdoors as most restaurants offer.

Holiday

Really nice island; lots to see and appreciate.

Use the bus network; it is excellent, see the markets, visit the inland towns, visit Mogan.

Air is clear, sea is blue and they are trying to be quite green with wind power etc.

The service staff are great in hotels, supermarkets and restaurants. Locals outside tourist areas (very few because we are everywhere) are still friendly and will talk so try and get some language skills together.

Thoroughly recommend for some winter sun.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 28th February 2010

Lena Thomson visit date: 24th January 2009 for 7 days

25. gran canaria masapolomas

Weather:
4
Holiday:
3
Accommodation:
2
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
4

Weather

I arrived 24th Jan and it was lovely. The sun was shinning, we found some great pubs and met so many nice people.

The whole holiday was great and we can't wait to go back

Holiday

It was great i would go back tomorow if I could.

It was just a great place to visit.

The people are very friendly the food was good and the resort was very clean.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Lena Thomson, added on 2nd February 2010

Author visit date: 11th January 2010 for 10 days

26. Winter break at Maspalomas

Weather:
5
Holiday:
3
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
3

Weather

We arrived on Jan 11th to clear blue skies,sunshine,warmth and a lovely breeze which continued thoughout the entire week.

Temperatures 25-27 degrees during the day - dipping as the day wore on but only a light shawl or cardigan needed in the evenings.

Holiday

Please note: this is only a personal review and my tastes will not be the same as yours. I have friends who have visited Gran Canaria for the last 8 yrs and love it. Likewise I know someone who loathed it from the moment they arrived! So, please read between the lines and don't let me put you off in any way.

If you need to relax then this is the place for you. We stayed at the Maspalomas Princess Hotel h.b and it was exactly what it says on the label! The food was plentiful and the variety extensive.

The staff were cheerful and helpful and the cleanliness of the hotel was outstanding.

Evening entertainment was surprisingly good - usually I give this a wide berth but things are on the up and the bands/groups I watched were very professional and entertaining.

Beware, measures are not used for alchoholic beverages (cheap) which helps keep the party going but as soon as you get onto the bed you'll know about it!
We strolled to the beach daily but were flagging on our return particularly my 80 yr old mother - beware, it does take approx 30mins unless you really step out!

However, don't be put off as taxis/buses are v.reasonable and readily available.

Watch out for the women along this stretch in the daytime who try to attatch bracelets to your wrist and then demand money in a quite alarming fashion. Apparently, once the bracelet is on you wrist the deal is done and you must pay! One of our party (walking alone) foolishly parted with 50 euro just to get rid of them as a group of 5 crowded around him in a menacing manner. No eye contact or verbal communication is the key.

Otherwise I felt very safe even walking in the dark - security cameras were visible and local police patrolling all main thoroughfares.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 21st January 2010

Nick Everson visit date: 3rd January 2010 for 7 days

27. Holiday Gran Canaria

Weather:
4
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
4
Food:
4
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
4

Weather

Sunny and bright. 22-25 degs for the duration, a lot cooler up in the mountains. Sunrise was at 07.00 ish, sunset at 1820. what a huge differance the extra daylight made compared to a dark Britain at this time of year.

Holiday

Stayed at the Taurito Princess, all inclusive.

Food and drink was very good with lots of choice, themed evenings every night.

The beach was black sand, not the golden colour in the holiday mags, but the sea was great with huge crashing waves, warmer than the unheated pool at the hotel.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Nick Everson, added on 20th January 2010

Author visit date: 21st December 2009 for 5 days

28. Christmas 2009 at Puerto Rico

Weather:
2
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
3
Food:
3
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
4

Weather

Warm and patchy cloud/light rain with sunny spells first four days, changes very quickly. Very hot and sunny boxing day, and you can burn very easily so take the sun creams etc.

Holiday

Constant temperature night and day made a very relaxing holiday, especially leaving the snow behind.
Food and services very good even on Christmas day,(most places open).
Prices similar to uk, but watch out for a pint at 1.50 Euro on beach at Amadores, only to be hiked up to 3.50 when the sun comes out.
Stayed at Cala Nova, self catering,very good,and drinks on the balcony with a good view a real pleasure.
Will try again for a longer stay next time.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 28th December 2009

Peter Hutchinson visit date: 5th December 2009 for 14 days

29. fantastic holiday

Weather:
4
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
2
Overall:
5

Weather

The first 2 days were a little cloudy, but the weather was still in the the early 20s. The rest of the week was fantastic weather, the temperature was a constant 25 degrees.

The second week was rather poor from Saturday until Wednesday with rain most days and heavy cloud, but the rest of the week was lovely and warm again.

Holiday

We stayed in the Riu Vistimar hotel. This was all inclusive, and I must say it is the best hotel I have stayed in. The food is outstanding, there is so much variety and choice and it is available from 8am in the morning until late.

The entertainment is great, and the kids clubs are brilliant too. The staff are very friendly and hard working, and the hotel is so clean.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Peter Hutchinson, added on 18th December 2009

ANDY H visit date: 21st November 2009 for 14 days

30. GRAN CANARIA WEATHER

Weather:
5
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
3
Food:
4
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
4

Weather

Just came back from 2 weeks in Puerto Rico Gran Canaria. Weather was hot, 25 - 28 degrees almost every day, only one cloudy day in the whole 2 weeks.


Holiday

Very nice place although we stayed at the top so it was very hilly.

There's a lovely walk around from Puerto Rico Beach to manmade Amadores Beach.

Taxis cheap and buses to anywhere are reasonable.


Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
ANDY H, added on 10th December 2009

Author visit date: 18th November 2009 for 7 days

31. My holiday in Gran Canaria

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
5

Weather

From the moment we arrived until the time we left it was hot.

Temperature's in the mid to late 20s with the odd cool breeze.

Holiday

We stayed at the RIU VISTAMAR on the top of cliff top over looking the Amadores beach in Puerto Rico.

It had an outstanding view.

I also have to say that the hotel was the best I've ever stayed in. I can't praise the staff, cleanliness & food enough.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 26th November 2009

Author visit date: 21st September 2009 for 7 days

32. gran canaria, san agustin

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
4
Food:
5
Nightlife:
1
Overall:
4

Weather

Weather was fantastic, we went in September 2009, was in the mid 20's to low 30's.

We saw rain once, on the day we departed, and that only lasted for approx 15 to 20 SECONDS!

Holiday

We went to the Ifa Interclub Atlantic Hotel, we had a room over the back of the Tara building... not the best as the main road was close. I'd say the best rooms would be even numbers any floor in the Tirma building if your thinking of going.

We loved the choice of food, couldn't fault it at all. Resturant was way too hot though, so we spent each day looking for the coolest table. Hotel staff were polite and all inclusive drinks measures were not skimpy!

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 2nd November 2009

33. my holiday in grancanaria

Weather:
3
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
2
Food:
2
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
3

Weather

The weather was ok when we went. We went November 5th 2007.

Temp was 23c and cloudy on first day.

By the end of the week it was 30c and we didnt want to go home.

Holiday

We had a great holiday, we stayed in Golf se Nora apartments.

We booked over the phone and the salesman made it sound like luxury - it was basic but fine.

Night life was FANTASTIC. We are a young family and Playde Inglise is the gay capital of Europe and has fantastic drag queen shows.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Mark Single, added on 15th October 2009

Author visit date: 1st August 2009 for 14 days

34. Holiday in Gran Canaria

Weather:
4
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
3
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
4

Weather

Weather was fabulous, although it was a little bit too hot the 1st week - the day we arrived it was the end of the Sorocco so the temperature that day had hit 48 degrees, and it was still 40 degrees at 7pm.
It cooled a little after that but it was still really hot.

Holiday

Holiday was brilliant, we stayed in Greenfields which has a brilliant location right in the heart of the Irish Centre in Playa del Ingles.
There is a brilliant selection of pubs, nightclubs and shops just across the road and its not far from the beach.
Mulligans Irish pub is next door, brilliant pub. Also the Irish Court across the street - a karaoke/disco bar.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 21st August 2009

Author visit date: 10th September 2008 for 7 days

35. CASTILLO DEL SOL. PUERTO RICO

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

Been in October and the weather was glorious.
Been in January and it was not as good and quite cold at night.

Holiday

First visit I went alone ( bit nervous ) but I had a wonderful time.
Stayed at Castillo del Sol because it was the cheapest in the search.
Only 2 star and basic but immaculately clean. Didnt know what to expect being so basic but it was great.
Lovely staff , excellent poolside snack bar and I had the best holiday ever.
Was'nt on my own for 2 minutes.
Went back 4 months later.
Weather not as good ( Jan ).
Just booked now for October.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 12th August 2009

Author visit date: 21st July 2008 for 14 days

36. My Holiday in Gran Canaria

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather was lovely, although some days we found it it just a bit too hot and couldn't handle it, so stay insdie from the sun.

Holiday

Best holiday ever, everything was perfect, food, nightlife..amazing. We stayed in Puerto Rico, and there was plenty of steps, but it was very good exercise after all that food you'd eat!

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 8th May 2009

37. Great winter sun!

Weather:
4
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
4
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
4

Weather

The weather was pretty good most of the time, a couple of spits of rain now and again but nothing to really complain about.
It was a bit nippy at night, nothing a jumper/pullover didn't sort out.
It was the first full week in January so couldn't be happier being in the sun (25degrees approx) that time of year.

Holiday

Had a really great time, we were in Playa del Ingles, our Hotel was excellent too (Riu Waikiki) so the whole experience in Gran Canaria was great!
The nightlife was pretty good as well and there were plenty of decent places to eat and drink.
It was quite expensive in Gran Canaria so i'd reccommend choosing all-inclusive if you can when booking.
I hadn't been away in winter before but it might become a more regular thing now, great time!

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Keith G., added on 23rd April 2009

Author visit date: 18th March 2009 for 7 days

38. puerto rico - march 2009

Weather:
4
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
2
Food:
1
Nightlife:
1
Overall:
4

Weather

Fab, cloudy on first day, but be careful just because cloudy does not mean you won't burn as we learnt to our cost.

Every other day little cloudy in morning and then beautiful blue skies and lovely sunny afternoons.

Holiday

Holiday was great, Puerto Rico is a fab resort with everything within reasonable distance.
Steps getting a bit much now but main downer was the euro. Found it really expensive and in fact the duty free shops in Puerto Rico were more expensive than the english one at the airport!

Stayed in Solana Apts - really good value, basic but clean - lovely pool but could have had a bit more entertainment. Apart from that well recommended and would definitely return.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 27th March 2009

39. My stay in Gran Canaria

Weather:
4
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
4
Food:
4
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
5

Weather

The day we arrived in Gran Canaria it was raining but the next day and for the rest of our holiday the weather was fairly reasonable.
The temperatures averaged around 22 degrees celcius throughout the day and around 17 degrees celcius at night.

Holiday

Great!
The airport took no time to get out of and had no problem with our luggage.
When we arrived at the Riosol hotel we found it difficult to find our room but once we were in; it was a clean, tidy and very nice room with a stunning view of the ocean.
The pools were great fun for the kids and so was the evening kids entertainment.
Lots of friendly staff and would reccommend the half-boarder for a good meal.
Food is a buffet with different country themes! Chinese, English, French, German.....All sorts!
Resturants in Puerto Rico town centre were good but it is a long walk down and a taxi ride up.
Shops were not very good in town but behind the Riosol hotel was a good hidden market and supermarket!
Amadoras beach is great!
Better than Puerto Rico but a bit of a longer walk!
All in all our holiday was great and we made some good friends who we are still keeping in contact with.
In Feb 09 we are going to the Gloria Palace hotel - we hope we have just as much fun!

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Sophie Florence, added on 11th February 2009

Author visit date: 15th December 2008 for 14 days

40. Christmas at Gran Canaria

Weather:
4
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

Arrived 15th December to sunshine, after that it was warm and sunny on alternate days, cold and windy on the others. Christmas day and the next three were sizzling, and we were sorry to leave on the 29th.

Holiday

Overall, fantastic. Stayed at the Neptuno as we always do, such friendly and welcoming staff, and the food is out of this world, I defy anyone to find fault with the place!

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 17th January 2009

41. New Year

Weather:
4
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
3
Overall:
4

Weather

Arrived on 29th December to cloudy skies but still very warm.
It then rained for about 20 hours.
Thankfully that was the last we saw of the cloud and rain, as from then on it was sun, sun and more sun with temperatures in the region of 70.-75 degrees.
We were able to sunbath from 10 - 17.30 every day and there was no need for coats in the evening.

Holiday

Fabulous holiday.
Stayed in a private villa in Tauro which was idylic.
Would recommend the area for a quiet relaxing holiday.
Just a word of warning, Gran Canaria is now very expensive.
Average restaurant bill for 2 adults and 2 children was 75-80 euro.
Supermarkets are also a lot more expensive than at home.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 9th January 2009

Author visit date: 14th January 2009 for 7 days

42. Looking forward to a nice holiday

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

Hoping it wil be sunny!
Forecast up to holiday shows of rain which will hopefully use up the months average rainfall!!
When I have been in the past it has always been sunny and with the stronger UV rays you always get a good tan.

Holiday

I haven't been yet!!
I'm going as a single traveller in mid January and staying at the Vista Doradao, Sonnenland, just inland from the Masapolomas Dunes.
Has anyone recenty come back from there?
Have enjoyed the Canaries in the past but this is the first time I'm going alone.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 6th January 2009

Sue Fink visit date: 20th November 2006 for 7 days

43. My holliday in Gran Canaria

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

Went November 20 for a week and had glorious weather all week. Its also the first time I sat in the sun all day and every day and did not burn. Lovely soft breeze most days and still warm enough at night to go out bare armed.

Holiday

First time ever went alone. As a mature lady I was slightly aprehensive but I had a great time. Met some lovely people who just would not let me be on my own. Enjoyed it so much I am going back to the same place in Jan and I cant wait.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Sue Fink, added on 8th December 2008

Raymond Mac Fadden visit date: 7th November 2008 for 7 days

44. Fantastic week of Sunshine in Playa del Ingles

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
2
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

Went there on 10th November last for 1 week and the weather was amazing for the whole week.
Though slightly cloudy in morning the sun came out at about 11am every morning and lasted till about 3pm for the first few days and towards thursday, friday and saturday it lasted till about 5 pm.
During that time it was exceptionally warm.
Because it was windy we stayed on the sun loungers on the rooftop of the sauna close to the beach where all the taxis hang out.
Drinks and food could be had there or you could go to any of the numerous Restauants beside us.

Holiday

Tended to go and listen to the music over at a german pub on the walkway near there which started at 3pm for about 2 hours. A dutch couple sang lots of country music. Lots of dancing going on there in the open as well as different comedy acts by a fire eater as well as a russian clown.
Nightime we went to the kasbah for the live open dancing in the square. Lots of amazing dancers and started at about 7.30pm and went on till after nine.
We tended to end up near where we were staying in the irish Centre. Great music in Mulligans every night starting at 10 pm till late.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Raymond Mac Fadden, added on 27th November 2008

45. Playa del Ingles, Riu Waikiki

Weather:
4
Holiday:
4
Accommodation:
3
Food:
4
Nightlife:
4
Overall:
3

Weather

Weather was fantastic,sunny every day not many clouds about, if you are careful you won't burn, a slight breeze was welcome

Holiday

Great, for a great night out go to Yumbo centre you are made to feel so welcome, Puerto de Mogan was lovely, as wa Puerto Rico.
Only fault was Germans at our hotel they are so rude and barge in when you queue for the buffet,

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Anonymous, added on 26th October 2008

Kylie Valencia visit date: 18th September 2007 for 14 days

46. holiday in puerto rico

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
4
Food:
4
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather was stunning never really a cloud in the sky, there was no rain in the 2 weeks I was there.
If your like me and burn easy then take sun lotion because u dont just burn.. u suffer.

Holiday

My holiday over all was brilliant. had a great laugh. go back in 6 weeks.. can't wait. went to nearly all of the bars and clubs. got some great duty free perfume.
Went on a glass bottomed boat. you can see all the fish and everything.
The weather being perfect just topped the holiday.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Kylie Valencia, added on 4th September 2008

47. My holiday in Gran Canaria

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
4
Food:
5
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather was really hot and sunny it was great,I tan really well but my husband burns so you will need suncream

Holiday

We had a really relaxing time,but if you want fun thats available to. thats the beauty,we stayed in Puerto Rico and so much is available

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Michelle Hall, added on 26th July 2008

Dean Warwick visit date: 20th December 2007 for 14 days

48. my holiday in gran canaria xx

Weather:
5
Holiday:
5
Accommodation:
5
Food:
4
Nightlife:
5
Overall:
5

Weather

The weather was good and nice and hot : it always is I love it in the sun it gets hot in the day and u do need sun creme or u will burn there
It dooes'nt get that cool at night but some times u do get a little bit of rain there .

Holiday

i loved my holiday there the best 1
I have had yet been going Gran Canaria for about 8 years now the night life is good for any age but the best for my age group 18 to late 20 go there and see for your self : trust me u will love it

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Dean Warwick, added on 3rd April 2008

Dawn Anderson visit date: 31st January 2008 for 5 days

49. my holiday in gran canaria

Weather:
4
Holiday:
3
Accommodation:
4
Food:
5
Nightlife:
2
Overall:
3

Weather

31st January - 4th February 2008

The weather was absolutely wonderful. 25 degrees everyday. Much cooler in the evening, but saying that still went out in sleeveless shirts.

Holiday

Hotel Riu Vistamar -Puerto Rico

The hotel was really good, top notch. Facilities very clean and modern. The staff could not do enough for you. Hotel recommended. The only thing lacking was a night club. The evening entertainment was a bit butlins - however good fun.

Recommend Gran Canaria to others

Yes

Review by :
Dawn Anderson, added on 5th February 2008

Your Holiday Weather Settings

Show temperature in:
Show distance in:
Select your weather icons: